SSS won't start on a ST-V

PCB problems and fixes
Post Reply
User avatar
meijin
Posts: 482
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 12:47 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

SSS won't start on a ST-V

Post by meijin » March 8th, 2015, 7:16 pm

Need some help with my ST-V set up.

I have a European ST-V mobo with SSS, but somehow I can't start the game.
I always got following error message:
[+] Spoiler...
Image
I know, I have to change the game to 1P mode, but even doing this, I'm still not able to start the game.
The mobo recognizes the game (SSS is mentioned), so I guess the problem must be with the mobo or the settings.

If I start Die Hard Arcade in 2P mode it will run. Sadly I don't have any other games.

Can someone help?

User avatar
mastercello
Posts: 841
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 11:42 am
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland
eBay: mastercello
Initials: BUS
Contact:

Re: SSS won't start on a ST-V

Post by mastercello » March 8th, 2015, 7:58 pm

SSS is Japanese only - so you need a JP or Uni Bios for this to work.

User avatar
meijin
Posts: 482
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 12:47 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: SSS won't start on a ST-V

Post by meijin » March 8th, 2015, 9:45 pm

Really?
I justed checked our wiki page and there it is listed for all regions.

User avatar
mastercello
Posts: 841
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 11:42 am
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland
eBay: mastercello
Initials: BUS
Contact:

Re: SSS won't start on a ST-V

Post by mastercello » March 8th, 2015, 10:17 pm

Then I might be wrong - sorry! :oops:

User avatar
DandySephy
Posts: 1479
Joined: October 7th, 2008, 4:54 am
Location: Canterbury, UK
Initials: SEP

Re: SSS won't start on a ST-V

Post by DandySephy » March 8th, 2015, 10:43 pm

This sort of error may mean that the motherboard config needs changing. Naomi does similar with some games (usually based on test mode rotation setting or controller types), as does Taito F3.

I've never used ST-V, but things to try would be input settings, game/motherboard config or perhaps reset to factory defaults.

User avatar
turntablism
Posts: 278
Joined: June 11th, 2010, 8:11 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: SSS won't start on a ST-V

Post by turntablism » March 9th, 2015, 6:26 pm

yes, Change the Setting "cabinet type" to 1P - then it should work. or try to clean the cartridge contacts
Attachments
IMG_1229.JPG
IMG_1230.JPG
IMG_1232.JPG
http://www.yodel-arcade.blogspot.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
https://www.youtube.com/user/Fanaticcism" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Post Reply