artifact on title screen

PCB problems and fixes
Post Reply
User avatar
sakaiza
Posts: 8
Joined: August 14th, 2011, 10:49 pm
Location:

artifact on title screen

Post by sakaiza »

Hi,
I recently upgraded a cps-1 street fighter 2' CE (dash) into street fighter 2' hyper fighting (Turbo). The game runs well but I have a visual artifact on the title screen where "Turbo" should normally be displayed Image
I've a feeling that I've already seen this small glitch before, if someone knows something about this I'd be very interested.
User avatar
yosai
Windy City
Posts: 3819
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:00 pm
Location: London
eBay: yosai

Re: artifact on title screen

Post by yosai »

If CE was perfect I'd verify the contents of the two HF EPROMs.
Phexe
Posts: 118
Joined: June 22nd, 2012, 4:13 pm
Location: LAve

Re: artifact on title screen

Post by Phexe »

Did you use the correct region. Looks like a USA version, trying to display the TURBO which isn't in the USA rom version.

ie;

JAPAN:
sf2hf_jap.png
sf2hf_jap.png (10.88 KiB) Viewed 2125 times
USA:
sf2hf_usa.png
sf2hf_usa.png (10.7 KiB) Viewed 2125 times
User avatar
sakaiza
Posts: 8
Joined: August 14th, 2011, 10:49 pm
Location:

Re: artifact on title screen

Post by sakaiza »

Ah, thanks That might be the problem... The pcb was sold with extra eproms which only change the game in japanese... I asked someone to erase this japanese version and to copy the american turbo one... Unfortunately,he gave me the turbo japanese one... So I have an american cps1 with 3 japanese eproms on it... I assumed that there is no way to change the region of a cps-1?
Phexe
Posts: 118
Joined: June 22nd, 2012, 4:13 pm
Location: LAve

Re: artifact on title screen

Post by Phexe »

sakaiza wrote:Ah, thanks That might be the problem... The pcb was sold with extra eproms which only change the game in japanese... I asked someone to erase this japanese version and to copy the american turbo one... Unfortunately,he gave me the turbo japanese one... So I have an american cps1 with 3 japanese eproms on it... I assumed that there is no way to change the region of a cps-1?
Not really, the Region is set by the main set of roms (see this pic, the roms highlighted in Blue);
sf2t_roms.jpg
Which will probably be Street Fighter II Champion Edition USA Roms.

And in that pic, the RED box shows 3 roms (You need to take off the top C Board to get to all 3 roms). Those are the Hyper Fighting Upgrade roms, if you take those 3 roms off, erase them and reburn the USA/World Hyper Fighting Roms it should fix the problem.

EDIT: What is the name of the Boxer (1st Boss) when you hover over him on the select screen?
User avatar
sakaiza
Posts: 8
Joined: August 14th, 2011, 10:49 pm
Location:

Re: artifact on title screen

Post by sakaiza »

I have also an extra set of the eproms you highlighted in blue , I put them on the pcb this morning and it didnt change anything... Boxer is called M.Bison...As you say, I think I have to put the US version on eproms 21,22,23 to get rid of the visual artifact of the "turbo" logo...
Phexe
Posts: 118
Joined: June 22nd, 2012, 4:13 pm
Location: LAve

Re: artifact on title screen

Post by Phexe »

sakaiza wrote:I have also an extra set of the eproms you highlighted in blue , I put them on the pcb this morning and it didnt change anything... Boxer is called M.Bison...As you say, I think I have to put the US version on eproms 21,22,23 to get rid of the visual artifact of the "turbo" logo...
Yeah that's what I'm thinking. Although I thought the characters names were stored on the blue roms, maybe the 21/22/23 tell the game what to name the characters. Do you know if the BLUE roms are USA or JP set?
Phexe
Posts: 118
Joined: June 22nd, 2012, 4:13 pm
Location: LAve

Re: artifact on title screen

Post by Phexe »

Think we're on the right track mate.

I just got the MAME rom of SF2 Hyper Fighting USA, and swapped 21/22/23 with the Japanese version and got;
0002.png
So all you need to do is replace 21/22/23 with the USA/World Hyper Fighting roms and you're golden :)
User avatar
sakaiza
Posts: 8
Joined: August 14th, 2011, 10:49 pm
Location:

Re: artifact on title screen

Post by sakaiza »

Thank you very much. I really dont know what version the blue highlighted eprom were but the language of the game was changing in japanese when I swapped eproms 21,22,23 with the extra set given with the pcb. Thanks for the help :)
Phexe
Posts: 118
Joined: June 22nd, 2012, 4:13 pm
Location: LAve

Re: artifact on title screen

Post by Phexe »

No probs, you've most likely have USA/World English Main roms, and 21/22/23 are Japanese. Easy fix :)
Post Reply