Turtles in time graphic error

PCB problems and fixes
Post Reply
User avatar
Capoz
Posts: 12
Joined: August 24th, 2012, 1:31 pm
Location: ITALY
eBay: Capozhwm

Turtles in time graphic error

Post by Capoz » August 25th, 2013, 10:30 pm

Hi to all

I have an original pcb of turtles in time that give me some glitch error on the sprites

I've done the mask rom test

that test give me no error at the end but during the test when mask rom 15 start I see this



In another forum i read about changing rom 7K and 7L

I've replaced 7K, desoldered the original one, put a socket and then burnt a 27c400, but i've the same error

first of doing it also to 7L, anybody can tell me something more?

thank you to all

Aldo

Asure
Posts: 570
Joined: April 17th, 2013, 5:16 pm
Location: Netherlands
eBay: asure_nl

Re: Turtles in time graphic error

Post by Asure » August 25th, 2013, 11:32 pm

Mask rom content is copied into ram during the test, this is normal. Test results should come on the screen after that.. what do the tests say?

User avatar
Capoz
Posts: 12
Joined: August 24th, 2012, 1:31 pm
Location: ITALY
eBay: Capozhwm

Re: Turtles in time graphic error

Post by Capoz » August 25th, 2013, 11:51 pm

Asure wrote:Mask rom content is copied into ram during the test, this is normal. Test results should come on the screen after that.. what do the tests say?

Say that's it all ok

But I have alway horizobtal line on the characters

Tomorrow I'll make a video or see the issue.

User avatar
Capoz
Posts: 12
Joined: August 24th, 2012, 1:31 pm
Location: ITALY
eBay: Capozhwm

Re: Turtles in time graphic error

Post by Capoz » August 26th, 2013, 9:22 pm

Video of the problem


Asure
Posts: 570
Joined: April 17th, 2013, 5:16 pm
Location: Netherlands
eBay: asure_nl

Re: Turtles in time graphic error

Post by Asure » August 26th, 2013, 11:47 pm

Well, looks like a broken video ram or buffer (74LS245) but can be something else as well. Dry solder joint, or hairline fracture on a trace.. etc.
No RAM errors are reported ever?

Do you have any tools? Multimeter, logic probe, scope.. things like that?

User avatar
Capoz
Posts: 12
Joined: August 24th, 2012, 1:31 pm
Location: ITALY
eBay: Capozhwm

Re: Turtles in time graphic error

Post by Capoz » August 27th, 2013, 9:22 am

Asure wrote:Well, looks like a broken video ram or buffer (74LS245) but can be something else as well. Dry solder joint, or hairline fracture on a trace.. etc.
No RAM errors are reported ever?

Do you have any tools? Multimeter, logic probe, scope.. things like that?
I have a multimeter

RAM errors where can be detected?

thank you for the help

Post Reply