leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

PCB problems and fixes
User avatar
meijin
Posts: 459
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 12:47 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by meijin »

Oh thanks :awe:
Will download it this evening, make a test run and update this thread here.
Hopefully everything works fine.
User avatar
leonardoliveira
Posts: 692
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 5:53 am
Location: Brazil
Initials: leo

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by leonardoliveira »

meijin wrote:Oh thanks :awe:
Will download it this evening, make a test run and update this thread here.
Hopefully everything works fine.
If you look around the site you will notice that I updated all versions of Ultimate ecology, including the non Japanese ones. The problem was that I re-ripped all of them using decryption masks in 2016 (improved decryption accuracy) but when I applied the patches I let the second memory wipe (after power on self test) unpatched and that was making the game crash at the export rules warning screen. Sad but yes the older versions had proper patching, they were actually booting up. Thank you so much for reporting this.

Man this game is so frigging hard.
Image
User avatar
meijin
Posts: 459
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 12:47 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by meijin »

Still no success :(

Downloaded the file, burnt the 4 roms, but same result.
I know that the battery was dead (measured it), so I still hope that there is only something with the Roms.
I also tried using different Eproms, but still no boot.

@ leo
could I get your older version?
Just want to see, if this game boots.
User avatar
leonardoliveira
Posts: 692
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 5:53 am
Location: Brazil
Initials: leo

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by leonardoliveira »

Please look the zip file, inside if the date of the file 03 is from yesterday. I tested the file which were at the site, which indeed failed as you described. I patched, updated the file 03 from the zipfile and uploaded again. All six versions of "Ultimate Ecology/Eco Fighters.


I know it is working this time because after repairing the files, I loaded it on the Darksoft's CPS2 multi and it played correctly. I even played through the game once.

You should need to rewrite only the chip 03 from the faulty set.
Image
User avatar
meijin
Posts: 459
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 12:47 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by meijin »

I will check this over the weekend.
But as you said, I've downloaded all updated files (also the updated 03 file) and rewrote my chips.
I didn't get an error message, but you never know. Will try it again.

If it doesn't work, then I have a different fault.
Would be horrible though. Bought the game from a Japanese store, tested without faults, but got it with a dead battery, so I thought that it is just dead, not broken :(
User avatar
leonardoliveira
Posts: 692
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 5:53 am
Location: Brazil
Initials: leo

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by leonardoliveira »

I suggest you try moving your 03-06 EPROMs into another CPS2 game (that is battery less) and see if it boots up. Even with screwed graphics and sound you can at least see if the programmed EPROMs are working properly...
Image
User avatar
meijin
Posts: 459
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 12:47 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by meijin »

So, tried a lot, but still didn't get it working :(

First I burnt all Eproms again with the latest files. I also used a different Eprom for the 03 file, just to sort out a fault in the chip.
Didn't work.
So I placed the eproms (03-06) into my battery less Vampire board. Didn't work.
Worst is that now the Vampire board also won't boot anymore :( Same as the Ultimate board, it just shows a blank screen.

Tried a bit to short cap the ECX3 capacitor like in the below link (thanks to our Aerocitymayor), but also here no success, though I have to try it again.
https://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=39171

Don't know what went wrong!?
User avatar
leonardoliveira
Posts: 692
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 5:53 am
Location: Brazil
Initials: leo

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by leonardoliveira »

What? You put the eproms on another board which were working and it no longer works now? It's impossible for data in the eproms to cause any damage, even on boards which still have encryption data in them, they will just not work. Returning the original eproms to the board should resume it's operation.
Image
User avatar
ChuChuFlamingo
Posts: 54
Joined: March 27th, 2012, 6:14 am
Location: Michigan

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by ChuChuFlamingo »

leonardoliveira wrote:What? You put the eproms on another board which were working and it no longer works now? It's impossible for data in the eproms to cause any damage, even on boards which still have encryption data in them, they will just not work. Returning the original eproms to the board should resume it's operation.
There is a chance he killed a custom when he shorted out the EXC3 capacitor. I've seen mainman on neo-geo point it out that it can happen once in a blue moon.
User avatar
meijin
Posts: 459
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 12:47 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by meijin »

This happened btw. before I shorted out the EXC3 capacitor :/
No clue what happened?!?
Once I tried only the 03 file in my Vampire and got a black screen, but after swapping the Eproms back, Vampire worked.
Then I put out all Eproms out of my Vampire, swapped them with my UE 03-06 Eproms and got a black screen.
Returned the Vampire Eproms into the Vampire board and from this point onwards I constantly get a black screen...
User avatar
leonardoliveira
Posts: 692
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 5:53 am
Location: Brazil
Initials: leo

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by leonardoliveira »

It doesn't work that way. You need all four eproms connected (and in the correct sequence, too) for Ultimate Ecology (or any other game, depending on it's program size can be more or less eproms) to work properly. It doesn't care about sockets 07-10 but it sure does care for sockets 03-06.

Mixing main program EPROMs from different games will not damage anything but will surely cause you frustration. :lol:
Image
User avatar
meijin
Posts: 459
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 12:47 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by meijin »

Actually I did this ....

All Vampire eproms out and only UE eproms 03-06 in the correct sequence in. Didn‘t work though.
Then I put out all Eproms out of my Vampire, swapped them with my UE 03-06 Eproms and got a black screen.
Returned the Vampire Eproms into the Vampire board and from this point onwards I constantly get a black screen...
I know that the eprom swap doesn‘t do any damage, but something happend?!?
I have only one board left with decrypted roms, but feel not really confident to try this out at the moment.
First I want to get UE and Vampire working.
User avatar
leonardoliveira
Posts: 692
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 5:53 am
Location: Brazil
Initials: leo

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by leonardoliveira »

Curious enough I took the roms I modified for you (the fix) and made them into a CPS2 multi set. Loaded it there and played through the game. Everything worked fine.
Image
User avatar
meijin
Posts: 459
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 12:47 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by meijin »

I believe that the files work fine and thanks to you, but something is **** up with my boards :problem:
I‘m next week off for a long holiday and when I’m back I will look for fault again.
User avatar
leonardoliveira
Posts: 692
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 5:53 am
Location: Brazil
Initials: leo

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by leonardoliveira »

meijin wrote:I believe that the files work fine and thanks to you, but something is **** up with my boards :problem:
I‘m next week off for a long holiday and when I’m back I will look for fault again.
It's good to be sceptical about my files, though. That's why I always try to give the best possible support. When I renewed the Ultimate Ecology sets I didn't test them properly and they were indeed faulty (hang up at the export warnings screen) and I had to fix them all.
Image
User avatar
idc
Posts: 1335
Joined: October 16th, 2008, 9:17 pm
Location: Tamworth, Staffordshire
Initials: IAN
Contact:

Re: leonardoliveira & idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by idc »

Nice one Leo, thanks for updating.

meijin, are you still having issues? It's quite unlikely that your boards have just "died" from having the ROMs swapped. It could happen, but you'd have been extremely unlucky if it did.

Have you tried Raz's CPS2 test ROM? You need to burn it to a single 27C4096 and pop it into socket 03. Doesn't matter whether you have any other ROMs in sockets 04 to 10.

http://cps2shock.emu-france.info/downlo ... sterv2.zip

If your boards work fine with that, then you can almost certainly rule out the majority of the most common faults.

If you're having issues where a board that was once working before you removed the ROMs, then not working when you replaced them, then it might be worth looking at the legs of your ROM chips. Make sure they're all in the sockets correctly, not bent outwards or inwards and missing the hole.
ImageImageImageImage
Image
User avatar
meijin
Posts: 459
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 12:47 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by meijin »

Hi Ian,

sorry for the late reply.
I will try Raz's test ROM within the next days and see if something works.

The legs looked ok, when I changed the ROM chips, so this wasn't the problem.
custm42435
Posts: 3
Joined: December 5th, 2017, 3:28 am
Location: United States
eBay: 99bmw328ic
Initials: cee

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by custm42435 »

been trying to get in touch with IDC but wont let me msg him directly since im new to the forum (had to register to give bug report per instructions on http://cps2.avalaunch.net/)

The decrypted romset for USA Street Fighter Alpha 3 is non working. Just boots to a blank white screen. Ended up having to use phoenix edition roms 3 and 4 instead then it worked so something about 3 and 4 in the zip file is bad. Just letting people know.
User avatar
leonardoliveira
Posts: 692
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 5:53 am
Location: Brazil
Initials: leo

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by leonardoliveira »

custm42435 wrote:been trying to get in touch with IDC but wont let me msg him directly since im new to the forum (had to register to give bug report per instructions on http://cps2.avalaunch.net/)

The decrypted romset for USA Street Fighter Alpha 3 is non working. Just boots to a blank white screen. Ended up having to use phoenix edition roms 3 and 4 instead then it worked so something about 3 and 4 in the zip file is bad. Just letting people know.
I just repaired the set. Please reload the page and download the zip. To get it to boot, you should need to reprogram only the 03 chip as that was the one I modified. Let me know if it works for you so I can update the page with the "verified working" tag.
Image
custm42435
Posts: 3
Joined: December 5th, 2017, 3:28 am
Location: United States
eBay: 99bmw328ic
Initials: cee

Re: leonardoliveira & Idc's clean decrypted roms

Post by custm42435 »

I will check when i get the next Alpha 3 board. had to send last one out working so ended up having to use Phoenix set on it. Will let ya know if i run in to any more that aren't working!
Post Reply