cps2 repair method of correct voltage number

PCB problems and fixes
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
Post Reply
User avatar
kobayuz777
Posts: 12
Joined: June 1st, 2018, 3:16 am
Location: japan
eBay: koba27300036

cps2 repair method of correct voltage number

Post by kobayuz777 » August 2nd, 2018, 8:22 am

It's embarrassing with simple things, please tell me. :awe:

I have CPS2 93646B-7.
The game is Aliens VS Predator.

I was thinking about repairing with Arduino because the battery was running out.
I used a 5 V power supply to connect the clip and sent the signal, but it did not work.

When measuring power with a tester connected to CN2, it was measured as 3.6V.
Was this because the PCB was loaded from 5V to 3.6 V?

If you connect the PCB to the power supply, you have to adjust so that 5V appears
Will not it be?

If the voltage is too high, the chip will break, do not you? 8-)

User avatar
NoAffinity
Posts: 352
Joined: January 8th, 2017, 3:46 pm
Location: Escondido, CA, USA
eBay: noaffinity
Initials: CSG
Contact:

Re: cps2 repair method of correct voltage number

Post by NoAffinity » August 2nd, 2018, 3:37 pm

You want to measure voltage at the chips. Adjust your power supply so that the chips are getting 5V - 5.1V (5.1V max).

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1028
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: cps2 repair method of correct voltage number

Post by nem » August 2nd, 2018, 3:49 pm

I'm not sure I follow. Are you trying to power the CPS2 with the Arduino? Because if you are, you're doing it wrong.

Put up a picture of your setup.

User avatar
kobayuz777
Posts: 12
Joined: June 1st, 2018, 3:16 am
Location: japan
eBay: koba27300036

Re: cps2 repair method of correct voltage number

Post by kobayuz777 » August 3rd, 2018, 2:52 am

Measured by touching the foot of CN 2, nearby LS 245, PAL and sound ROM, it was 3.8 to 3.9 V.
Program Rom and Graphic ROM did not come out.

I'm sorry, the photo does not have time and I can not take it. I will upload it if you can do it later.
The power supply uses the used switching power supply.
I can not see it, but the noise is so large that I can not send the signal correctly?

It seems necessary to purchase a power supply with a clean 5V.
Is the display of 3.8 to 3.9 V normal before adjusting the voltage?

User avatar
NoAffinity
Posts: 352
Joined: January 8th, 2017, 3:46 pm
Location: Escondido, CA, USA
eBay: noaffinity
Initials: CSG
Contact:

Re: cps2 repair method of correct voltage number

Post by NoAffinity » August 3rd, 2018, 3:31 pm

3.8 - 3.9V could be normal before adjusting the power supply. Are you able to adjust that power supply that you are using? If so, just dial it up slowly until you have a solid 5.0 - 5.1V at the chips.

Something like an arcade power supply can work well. I personally use the same power supply that is powering my super gun, with dedicated leads for powering the CPS2 board at CN2.
[+] Spoiler...
Image

User avatar
kobayuz777
Posts: 12
Joined: June 1st, 2018, 3:16 am
Location: japan
eBay: koba27300036

Re: cps2 repair method of correct voltage number

Post by kobayuz777 » August 6th, 2018, 2:52 pm

Thank you for reply! :awe:
I can not adjust the voltage of the power supply I have now.
I think I will buy a new game power supply at auction.

↓ Is this good?
https://page.auctions.yahoo.co.jp/jp/auction/m262406618
It is 5V8A.
Is 8A too high?

By the way, is it good to use iPhone 's USB charger for Arduino' s power supply? ;)

User avatar
NoAffinity
Posts: 352
Joined: January 8th, 2017, 3:46 pm
Location: Escondido, CA, USA
eBay: noaffinity
Initials: CSG
Contact:

Re: cps2 repair method of correct voltage number

Post by NoAffinity » August 6th, 2018, 6:16 pm

If all you are doing is powering a CPS2 board for reprogrammin, 5V 8A is more than enough. You want voltage to be identical (i.e. do NOT feed the board with 12V), and amperage to be at least the minimum needed, but your power supply can be rated for more amperage than you need. The amperage rating is the maximum that the it can supply, but supplies only what the load (CPS2 board) draws from it. I don't know what the actual draw of the board is (maybe leonardo or others can chime in here), but I expect that 1A would be more than enough for simply powering the chips to reprogram the board.

If you're going to be doing other things with the power supply, like powering the board and playing via supergun, etc., then something with higher amperage rating is a better bet. Happ makes a decent power supply:

https://www.ebay.com/p/Happ-15-Amp-Swit ... 505&chn=ps

As for the arduino, it needs 7v-12v DC and 1A minimum. The plug must be center positive also. So, a 7V power supply rated at 1A, 2A, 5A, will all work, as long as the plug is center positive. A 12V power supply rated at 1A, 2A, 5A...will work. And anything in between 7V-12V, as long as the amperage rating is good and the plug is center positive.

User avatar
kobayuz777
Posts: 12
Joined: June 1st, 2018, 3:16 am
Location: japan
eBay: koba27300036

Re: cps2 repair method of correct voltage number

Post by kobayuz777 » August 7th, 2018, 9:03 am

I think that arduino can supply power by connecting USB,
Is it better to connect the center plug to supply electricity?

User avatar
NoAffinity
Posts: 352
Joined: January 8th, 2017, 3:46 pm
Location: Escondido, CA, USA
eBay: noaffinity
Initials: CSG
Contact:

Re: cps2 repair method of correct voltage number

Post by NoAffinity » August 7th, 2018, 4:30 pm

I'm not sure that there's any empirical data on this for the arduino, but in general, a dedicated wall plug is better than USB power, where you have the option.

I've seen others report that they only power their arduino via USB, and have never had a problem programming CPS2 boards. So, personal preference, I suppose.

Post Reply