Konami boards audio?

PCB problems and fixes
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
zumbito
Posts: 516
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Konami boards audio?

Postby zumbito » August 11th, 2017, 7:42 am

I was jsut trying a bunch of PCBs on my cabm and realized none of the Konami boards (TMNT, Sunset riders or Xmen) don´t get any sound. At first I thought about the sound chip which is know to fail, but I realized Sunset Riders doesn´t have the weird capacitor chip. Does anyone know what could it be? Do Konami boards have any special requirements in terms of sound?

Thanks.
User avatar
RMRM
Posts: 444
Joined: April 20th, 2013, 4:45 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Konami boards audio?

Postby RMRM » August 11th, 2017, 7:57 am

They don't have any kind os special requirements.

My Sunset Riders also went mute and it was the YM-3012 that went bad, but of course, it can be a lot of other things.

Good luck
zumbito
Posts: 516
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Konami boards audio?

Postby zumbito » August 11th, 2017, 11:01 am

Did you solve it?
User avatar
RMRM
Posts: 444
Joined: April 20th, 2013, 4:45 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Konami boards audio?

Postby RMRM » August 11th, 2017, 2:36 pm

Yes, just soldered a replacement YM-3012 and sounds great ever since.
zumbito
Posts: 516
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Konami boards audio?

Postby zumbito » August 12th, 2017, 6:29 am

Damn, it is going to be hard to find a replacement...
User avatar
zak
Posts: 495
Joined: October 19th, 2014, 1:35 pm
Location: UK
eBay: hasan_matar

Re: Konami boards audio?

Postby zak » August 14th, 2017, 11:50 am

zumbito wrote:Damn, it is going to be hard to find a replacement...


Hmmm....

http://www.ebay.com/itm/YM3012-Yamaha-D ... 2065838784

:P
zumbito
Posts: 516
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Konami boards audio?

Postby zumbito » August 14th, 2017, 2:20 pm

:lol: :lol: I was thinking on the audio chip with capacitors on its top.
User avatar
RMRM
Posts: 444
Joined: April 20th, 2013, 4:45 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Konami boards audio?

Postby RMRM » August 14th, 2017, 2:25 pm

This is simple DAC, basically converts the digital part of the Audio circuit to the Analogue part.

If you have a logic probe, you can see if you have an healthy signal pulsing in the inputs and you should hear a bip (if your probe has sound) on the output in rhythm with actual game music.

If you have nothing on the inputs and nothing on the outputs, the problem is definitely on a previous area of the digital circuit ;)
zumbito
Posts: 516
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
Location: Metro City
eBay: jaime5171

Re: Konami boards audio?

Postby zumbito » August 14th, 2017, 8:31 pm

RMRM wrote:This is simple DAC, basically converts the digital part of the Audio circuit to the Analogue part.

If you have a logic probe, you can see if you have an healthy signal pulsing in the inputs and you should hear a bip (if your probe has sound) on the output in rhythm with actual game music.

If you have nothing on the inputs and nothing on the outputs, the problem is definitely on a previous area of the digital circuit ;)


Nope, no logic probe. Been wanting to learn how to use one, but haven´t found one yet.

Return to “Game Hardware Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users