exA-Arcadia

Coin-operated games and arcades.
User avatar
Unknownsou
Posts: 17
Joined: June 19th, 2009, 1:53 am
Location: USA
eBay: unknownsou630
Initials: SEX

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by Unknownsou » March 19th, 2020, 12:31 am

I'm thinking about buying an Exa in the near future... but what JVS to JAMMA adapter should I buy for it? Ideally something that's readily available.

User avatar
SuperPang
Master or Universe
Posts: 10080
Joined: August 16th, 2008, 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by SuperPang » March 19th, 2020, 6:49 pm

Unknownsou wrote:
March 19th, 2020, 12:31 am
I'm thinking about buying an Exa in the near future... but what JVS to JAMMA adapter should I buy for it? Ideally something that's readily available.
The SEGA Rev B ones are fairly common and not too pricey. I believe it adds less lag than the Capcom one. The only advantage of the latter would be the CPS2 kick harness connector for 6 button games.

If you're using a Supergun, that's all you'd need as you can connect the HDMI out to an HDTV.

User avatar
Unknownsou
Posts: 17
Joined: June 19th, 2009, 1:53 am
Location: USA
eBay: unknownsou630
Initials: SEX

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by Unknownsou » March 19th, 2020, 6:54 pm

SuperPang wrote:
March 19th, 2020, 6:49 MP
Unknownsou wrote:
March 19th, 2020, 12:31 am
I'm thinking about buying an Exa in the near future... but what JVS to JAMMA adapter should I buy for it? Ideally something that's readily available.
The SEGA Rev B ones are fairly common and not too pricey. I believe it adds less lag than the Capcom one. The only advantage of the latter would be the CPS2 kick harness connector for 6 button games.

If you're using a Supergun, that's all you'd need as you can connect the HDMI out to an HDTV.
Ok, cool.

And yeah, using a Supergun. So if I'm not mistaken, basically all the JVS connection is going to handle at this point is controls, right? Video and audio are separate, and it looks like the PSU is integrated into the Exa Arcadia... kind of a weird setup, but there you go.

StarCreator
Posts: 22
Joined: July 16th, 2019, 2:14 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
eBay: starcreator
Initials: STC

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by StarCreator » March 19th, 2020, 8:54 pm

Unknownsou wrote:
March 19th, 2020, 6:54 MP
Ok, cool.

And yeah, using a Supergun. So if I'm not mistaken, basically all the JVS connection is going to handle at this point is controls, right? Video and audio are separate, and it looks like the PSU is integrated into the Exa Arcadia... kind of a weird setup, but there you go.
Correct. The supergun still needs to provide power to the JVS adapter but controls will be all that passes through, unless you put the exA in 31KHz video mode and use a DAC to get VGA output.

I use the Sega rev B myself. It actually supports five buttons per player on the JAMMA harness alone and you can use the additional wire headers to get more if needed.

The Sega JVS converters don't have audio handling at all, so you'll have to handle that yourself. Though, if you use a DVI-D to HDMI adapter (or perhaps just unblock the HDMI output) you'll get HDMI audio just fine.

User avatar
SuperPang
Master or Universe
Posts: 10080
Joined: August 16th, 2008, 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by SuperPang » March 19th, 2020, 10:55 pm

I think (someone correct me if I’m wrong) the HDMI port outputs video and audio.

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1740
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by nem » March 20th, 2020, 10:12 am

Since you're just using the IO for controls, you could pick up any IO board and skip the supergun entirely. You just have to make an adapter between your supergun controller and the digital inputs on the IO, and wire a small +5V / +12V PSU to power the thing.

User avatar
MrJBRPG
Posts: 113
Joined: August 17th, 2018, 2:25 am
Location: SF Bay Area, California, USA
eBay: Johnshibrpg
Initials: JPM
Contact:

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by MrJBRPG » March 20th, 2020, 1:16 pm

For any of you concerned about input lag, several developers have explained their process on cutting down input lag:

https://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.p ... 8#p1403608

One developer behind "Gimmick! Exact-Mix!" discovered that major source comes from the JVS IO boards, with polling and buffering that causes delayed reading of inputs, and how far away you're working from the graphic calls and drivers, with OpenGL giving most access and control vs pre-baked engines (Unity, Unreal, Game Maker Studio, etc.) that automates and hides low-level details from the developers asynchronously.
You can get more details from the link above.

I feel happy about those responses to increase our knowledge and better optimize on input lag.

Also discovered recent tweet from developer behind Vritra Hexa, with a new stage and boss under WIP (work in progress).

User avatar
SuperPang
Master or Universe
Posts: 10080
Joined: August 16th, 2008, 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by SuperPang » March 20th, 2020, 1:43 pm

SuperPang wrote:
March 19th, 2020, 6:49 MP
I believe it adds less lag than the Capcom one.
I take it back..
mikejmoffitt wrote:The Sega "Type B" IO with the built-in JAMMA is pretty awful in this regard. The Capcom one is a bit better, but it double-buffers internally still. So far, the best has been the Sega "Type 3" Lindberg IO, and some of the Taito Vewlix ones.
https://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.p ... 7#p1403617

User avatar
mufunyo
Posts: 688
Joined: August 21st, 2008, 12:26 am
Location: Eindhoven, NL
eBay: mufunyo
Initials: MUF

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by mufunyo » March 20th, 2020, 1:50 pm

nem wrote:
March 20th, 2020, 10:12 am
Since you're just using the IO for controls, you could pick up any IO board and skip the supergun entirely. You just have to make an adapter between your supergun controller and the digital inputs on the IO, and wire a small +5V / +12V PSU to power the thing.
The Sega Rev B only requires 5 volts, I would expect other I/O models to behave similarly (worst case the audio circuit won't power on).
Image

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1740
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by nem » March 20th, 2020, 4:35 pm

mufunyo wrote:
March 20th, 2020, 1:50 MP
The Sega Rev B only requires 5 volts, I would expect other I/O models to behave similarly (worst case the audio circuit won't power on).
Sega JVS IOs run on +5V, however, Taito JVS IO needs +12V, so that's why I mentioned both.

User avatar
SuperPang
Master or Universe
Posts: 10080
Joined: August 16th, 2008, 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by SuperPang » April 1st, 2020, 2:03 pm

Unsurprisingly, the May "EXA festival" event has been cancelled. Looks like they were planning to showcase new titles at other events including CAX and EVO as well. Such a shame. COVID is a real kick in the balls for the arcade industry.

https://exa.ac/en/2020/03/31/exa-arcadi ... 177369a3b7

User avatar
Kretinou
Posts: 739
Joined: December 30th, 2008, 2:45 pm
Location: Switzerland
eBay: Perklorik
Initials: JIC
Contact:

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by Kretinou » April 1st, 2020, 2:35 pm

nem wrote:
March 20th, 2020, 10:12 am
Since you're just using the IO for controls, you could pick up any IO board and skip the supergun entirely. You just have to make an adapter between your supergun controller and the digital inputs on the IO, and wire a small +5V / +12V PSU to power the thing.
:awe:
Attachments
Porn jamna
Porn jamna

User avatar
nem
Posts: 1740
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by nem » April 1st, 2020, 5:06 pm

Kretinou wrote:
April 1st, 2020, 2:35 MP
:awe:
Not quite what I had in mind, but I like what you've done! :awe:

BTW, you don't need the +12V. It's just there to drive lamps. The actual IO runs on +5V.

User avatar
Kretinou
Posts: 739
Joined: December 30th, 2008, 2:45 pm
Location: Switzerland
eBay: Perklorik
Initials: JIC
Contact:

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by Kretinou » April 1st, 2020, 5:49 pm

Thank you, it's not my work but it's mine. :D. It requires to be embellished now.

To be honest, this adapter is for my chewlix, to play a ringedge 2 system with 6 buttons (and tx2 too). I am not mentally and financially ready for an exa system. :lol:

User avatar
Nomax
Posts: 41
Joined: February 10th, 2010, 5:09 pm
Location: Belgium
eBay: nomax_be
Initials: NMX
Contact:

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by Nomax » April 10th, 2020, 11:19 am

New game announced: NOISZ ARC⌖CODA, a rhythm/bullet hell shmup hybrid by the developers of Pump It Up Infinity and NeonFM: http://www.arcadebelgium.net/t6275-noisz-arccoda

Image

Image

Image

arcnl
Posts: 333
Joined: September 16th, 2012, 1:46 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by arcnl » April 10th, 2020, 6:52 pm

Could be suitable for a western arcade with a control panel with buttons to smash i guess.
It’s 14,99 on steam for the rest of us.

User avatar
Unknownsou
Posts: 17
Joined: June 19th, 2009, 1:53 am
Location: USA
eBay: unknownsou630
Initials: SEX

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by Unknownsou » April 10th, 2020, 10:09 pm

Seems interesting enough.... provided, of course, that it's substantially different from the Steam version.

Music games are one of my favorite genres, though, so cool to see something along those lines.

User avatar
Nomax
Posts: 41
Joined: February 10th, 2010, 5:09 pm
Location: Belgium
eBay: nomax_be
Initials: NMX
Contact:

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by Nomax » April 15th, 2020, 7:17 pm

The first production run of exA-Arcadia motherboards is sold out, more than 200 units have been sold in 10 different countries.

Distributors are taking pre-orders for the next batch.

Game cartridges are still in stock

Let's find the 10 countries, I know at least 7 of them:
- Japan
- USA
- Germany
- France
- Belgium
- UK
- Spain
What are the remaining 3?

Who has an exA here?

https://exa.ac/en/2020/04/15/exa-arcadi ... 177369a3b7

User avatar
Jan
Enemy of the state of Spain
Posts: 3789
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 7:56 pm
Location: Germany
eBay: voll gerne

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by Jan » April 15th, 2020, 8:09 pm

Wait, what? I thought that it was selling superb in Japan?
penis

User avatar
phillv85
Posts: 284
Joined: March 16th, 2013, 9:16 pm
Location:
eBay: phillv85
Initials: PAV

Re: exA-Arcadia

Post by phillv85 » April 15th, 2020, 8:15 pm

I assume by 200 locations they mean 200 public arcades, not 200 places including Pang and Zak’s houses.

Post Reply