Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Coin-operated games and arcades.
User avatar
cRacKh0rN
Custom rank pending return
Posts: 1820
Joined: October 13th, 2008, 11:22 am
Location: London
eBay: thecrunchieone
Initials: DAB

Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by cRacKh0rN »

Do you play your PCB's on anything but their default difficulty settings?
If you do, what games, what difficulty and for what reasons?

Personally, I am a glutton for punishment. Even if a game is pwning me, I can't change to a lower setting.
Taking Ibara as an example, even though it is a truly unforgiving game, any progress or high scores I may get on an easier difficulty level would not feel like achievements and I wouldn't feel like I got my monies worth if I was to 1CC it. The small progress I do make at times feels great when it happens though :)

I have yet to find a PCB I have ramped the difficulty up on past normal though :lol:
User avatar
kernow
:problem: child
Posts: 14845
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 2:01 pm
Location: Devon
Initials: KRN
Contact:

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by kernow »

Apart from turning freeplay on, and continues off, everything else is default :)
David... The wind blows... The wind blows... Bits of your... life awayee
User avatar
Rossyra
Supermod
Posts: 8022
Joined: February 12th, 2009, 1:24 am
Location: UK

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by Rossyra »

I put Grippo on my balls
Image
User avatar
Chi
Fire Extinguisher
Posts: 904
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 12:55 am
Location: Croydon, UK
Initials: CHI

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by Chi »

kernow wrote:Apart from turning freeplay on, and continues off, everything else is default :)
Wot this guy said.

I didn't even bother with freeplay until I lost the keys to my coin box :{
"TO THE untrained eye Christian Cooper might have been stamping out a small fire " - The Times, 7th Feb, 2004
User avatar
FrancoB
J+ member of the year finalist!
Posts: 4562
Joined: June 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Location: Buckinghamshire
eBay: francosquashking
Initials: FRN

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by FrancoB »

Just continues off here. I likez tha coining :)
User avatar
emphatic
Breastfeeds when required
Posts: 6217
Joined: April 7th, 2009, 4:14 pm
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
eBay: jorgen_sjolander
Initials: JOR

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by emphatic »

Chi wrote:
kernow wrote:Apart from turning freeplay on, and continues off, everything else is default :)
Wot this guy said.
+1. Also, demo sound off for me.
User avatar
richy13
Ming the Merciless
Posts: 799
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 12:38 am
Location: England
eBay: ryu-akuma

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by richy13 »

My Hsf2,SFZ & SSF2x are all on level 8/FreePlay/No continues :)
User avatar
Casey120
The Fluffer
Posts: 1003
Joined: November 27th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Location: The Netherlands
eBay: Tappygielen
Initials: CVW

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by Casey120 »

Continue off , the rest on default .
I like the sound of the coin falling in the machine !
dieKatze88
Posts: 485
Joined: July 21st, 2009, 6:43 am
Location: Madison, NJ

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by dieKatze88 »

Depends on the game, and what I want out of it at the time.

I have Super Puzzle Fighter II Turbo on defaults all the time, but most of my gradius games drift between normal and varying numbers of hard.
I stream myself playing Otomedius when I get bored
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/otomedius" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
User avatar
cRacKh0rN
Custom rank pending return
Posts: 1820
Joined: October 13th, 2008, 11:22 am
Location: London
eBay: thecrunchieone
Initials: DAB

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by cRacKh0rN »

richy13 wrote:My Hsf2,SFZ & SSF2x are all on level 8/FreePlay/No continues :)
;)
The only way to play SF (At least it was on the SNES) :lol:
User avatar
cRacKh0rN
Custom rank pending return
Posts: 1820
Joined: October 13th, 2008, 11:22 am
Location: London
eBay: thecrunchieone
Initials: DAB

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by cRacKh0rN »

kernow wrote:Apart from turning freeplay on, and continues off, everything else is default :)
Freeplay here too. I don't have any Japanese coins :shock:
User avatar
SuperPang
Master or Universe
Posts: 10035
Joined: August 16th, 2008, 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by SuperPang »

Demo sound is a definite no when you have a room full. No great loss with Third Strike, y'all. :D
User avatar
AeroCityMayor
Previously alien_mame
Posts: 2030
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 1:05 pm
Location: West Yorks, UK
eBay: air_fortless
Initials: ACM

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by AeroCityMayor »

I like coinage, but not Game Continue.

I also tend to have Demo Sounds switched on so that I don't inadvertently leave the cab switched on for 3 days and come back to vertical screen collapse.

...

For example ;)

Cheers,

Ralph.
Image
User avatar
subbie
Posts: 402
Joined: August 12th, 2010, 4:37 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by subbie »

Freeplay is pretty much a given but the rest depends on the game it self.

Soul Calibur 2 - Difficulty to max (the Ai sucks)
Tekken 5 JP - Maybe difficulty down 1 level, it defaults 1 higher then the USA version and I kind of suck at T5 (T4 is a cake walk)
Gundam games - I'll drop the difficulty down a notch since I'm still getting use to playing on sticks.
Street Fighter anything - I'll up the difficulty most of the time.

:awe:
Namco System 246/256/357 Software List
******** Help Fill in the blanks *******
http://www.smalllinks.com/P60" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
User avatar
Shou
Posts: 585
Joined: August 25th, 2009, 4:45 am
Location: Central Tokyo, Japan, Asia, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
Initials: SHO

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by Shou »

For 1ccs, I play games on default or whatever users think are the ideal settings. For fighters, I generally play on the hardest setting if I'm competent at the game.
User avatar
gargamel
Posts: 295
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 3:54 am
Location: 日本

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by gargamel »

Fighters:Hardest difficulty , freeplay enabled, no continue,demo sound off. (except SSF2X and Samurai Spirits 3 which have ridiculous hard AI, so i leave difficulty to default for SSF2X and easiest for Samspi 3)
others: default settings, freeplay(if available),continue enabled, demo sound of.
=Capcom Mini Cute and Killer Instinct severe addiction=
User avatar
Casey120
The Fluffer
Posts: 1003
Joined: November 27th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Location: The Netherlands
eBay: Tappygielen
Initials: CVW

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by Casey120 »

cRacKh0rN wrote:
kernow wrote:Apart from turning freeplay on, and continues off, everything else is default :)
Freeplay here too. I don't have any Japanese coins :shock:
Me neither but changing the coin mech as found on the Wiki here to accept 20 Euro cent coins was a 5 minute job ;)
User avatar
uncletom
Posts: 477
Joined: December 18th, 2009, 1:04 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by uncletom »

I, for one, am tired of people bugging me about setting all my games to easy: "Why are you setting all your games on easy? There's no challenge playing like that ..."

(Perhaps I should also add that I'm not a very competitive person. I just like winning, and winning only.)

- I love easy! If I'd like hard I wouldn't be buying games to play at home, I'd stick around the arcade impressing everybody. I like to *enjoy* my games in a stressless environment, not busting my balls over a few extra points which I am able to double, or triple by a simple flick of a DIP-switch!

The easy setting in example The King of Route 66 allows me to enjoy the scenery, as well as kicking Lizard Tails ****. If I'd set the game to normal, or hard, I would be out of time constantly, continuing all the time. I mean, where is the fun in HARD? Honestly!

.. oh! The only game I actually prefer to play in hard, or hardest, is Labyrinth Runner. Because then there are plenty of nice looking monsters to kill, and they are very killable. On easy or normal setting there are not that many 'creatures' and the game doesn't get much easier. Still Labyrinth Runner is one of my all time favourite games. And I'm very good at it, so that is why I like to allow it to challenge me slightly. It amuses me.
User avatar
plasticXO
Posts: 74
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 11:45 am
Location:

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by plasticXO »

Everything on default, no free play, apart from demo sound which I turn off.

On some PCBs, I also trigger some hidden bonuses. For exemple the 2 bonus planes in Raiden Fighters.
User avatar
CPS2
Street Fighter
Posts: 2003
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 10:03 pm
Location: Leeds

Re: Do you play your PCB's on anything but defaults?

Post by CPS2 »

richy13 wrote:My Hsf2,SFZ & SSF2x are all on level 8/FreePlay/No continues :)
The only way.... :awe:
Post Reply