GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Everything Emulator related
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
User avatar
cRacKh0rN
Custom rank pending return
Posts: 1846
Joined: October 13th, 2008, 11:22 am
Location: North Yorkshire
Initials: DAB

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by cRacKh0rN » May 31st, 2013, 1:11 pm

Nice one cools. Got a HD 4350 coming.
Crazy work schedule calms down next week, so I'm going to be doing this then :awe:

User avatar
cRacKh0rN
Custom rank pending return
Posts: 1846
Joined: October 13th, 2008, 11:22 am
Location: North Yorkshire
Initials: DAB

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by cRacKh0rN » June 22nd, 2013, 4:07 pm

cools, just about to do the install. Do the drivers work like Soft15khz, i.e. when you reboot, the graphics modes are 15khz only and won't display on the vga monitor anymore?

User avatar
baddy
Posts: 399
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 12:40 am
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
eBay: irishfrog89
Initials: CHI

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by baddy » June 22nd, 2013, 8:19 pm

Once windows, and the graphic driver is loaded, yes. You can still see the boot up sequence on a pc monitor.

User avatar
cRacKh0rN
Custom rank pending return
Posts: 1846
Joined: October 13th, 2008, 11:22 am
Location: North Yorkshire
Initials: DAB

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by cRacKh0rN » June 22nd, 2013, 10:06 pm

baddy wrote:Once windows, and the graphic driver is loaded, yes. You can still see the boot up sequence on a pc monitor.
Can you reconnect the gfx card to a vga monitor and use windows without unloading the driver?

User avatar
baddy
Posts: 399
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 12:40 am
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
eBay: irishfrog89
Initials: CHI

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by baddy » June 23rd, 2013, 9:19 am

Yes, but you need to start in safe mode (by pressing F8 during the boot sequence).

User avatar
cRacKh0rN
Custom rank pending return
Posts: 1846
Joined: October 13th, 2008, 11:22 am
Location: North Yorkshire
Initials: DAB

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by cRacKh0rN » June 23rd, 2013, 11:12 am

baddy wrote:Yes, but you need to start in safe mode (by pressing F8 during the boot sequence).
Ok, thanks man.
I guess you could make 2 hardware profiles too.

User avatar
pubjoe
Fosters Political Ambitions
Posts: 9700
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 8:58 am
Location:

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by pubjoe » June 23rd, 2013, 2:44 pm

I have an old Viewsonic LCD that actually accepts some 15k signals over VGA. I get a blurry but usable windows desktop at 480i. I guess it depends on the specific modeline in use, but it's possible on some monitors.

I also made a little .bat file with a desktop shortcut so that I can blindly switch from 15k CRT and LCD friendly resolutions. I'm sorry but it's not convenient for me to dig out the file at the moment but if you google for something like "resolution switch batch file" it should be easy enough to find some instructions.

User avatar
baddy
Posts: 399
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 12:40 am
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
eBay: irishfrog89
Initials: CHI

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by baddy » June 30th, 2013, 10:28 pm

Just bought online over the weekend:

- Old HP PC (c2d 2.1ghz, 2gb ram) (£30)
- X300 ATI Graphic Card (£9)
- VGA / Scart cable (£1.4)
- DVI to VGA dongle (£1.2)
- Jack to RCA cable (to be hacked into the scart plug for sound) (£1)
- 20" LG fun looking Telly (£1.04 :D, locally so no shipping)

Pic of the telly:

Image

PC :

Image


I'll do a complete tutorial on how to install Groovy UME and how to hook up everything :).

User avatar
joeblade
You're looking good Tim
Posts: 814
Joined: September 13th, 2008, 6:18 pm
Location: London

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by joeblade » July 24th, 2013, 9:47 am

So yet again in the search for another meaningless project i decided to follow cools dummies guide for GroovyMAME....

At this point i must make it clear I am below dummy level lol!! :palm:

Followed the guide in a linear way and due to the fact that im running purely on a 31k 640x480 barco monitor i thought i'd share a few findings...

So following the installation guide all was going well until step 13 when i ran the SETUP.EXE from the CRT-Emudriver, setup worked fine but on reboot (as per cRacKh0rn's comment) it attempted to boot into a mode my monitor was not capable of displaying.

To remedy this I booted into safe mode (cools later informed me i should have booted into vga mode) edited the VMMAKER configuration which comes later in the guide, then rebooted into vga mode, ran the VMMAKER.EXE and rebooted....everything was fine after that and my pc rebooted straight into 640x480... :)

In running the VMMAKER.EXE it only decided to add 8 additional modes but i take that's because my config is rather limited... :think:

I did decide to run clrmamepro but i found that the Software Lists also appears if your MAME database update so i said Yes To All and hoped for the best...couple of hours later it finished the rebuild and from running it seems to be ok.

One thing on my display is @ 640x480 you can see very fine scanlines and im not that keen on the default HLSL config...is anyone running on a 640x480 monitor and has changed the settings to get better results?

Need to run quite a few games to get an idea how much better this is than a normal mame build but looking ok so far!! :)
For gods sake, its a carton box - not the holy grail!

User avatar
pubjoe
Fosters Political Ambitions
Posts: 9700
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 8:58 am
Location:

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by pubjoe » July 24th, 2013, 10:22 am

joeblade wrote:In running the VMMAKER.EXE it only decided to add 8 additional modes but i take that's because my config is rather limited... :think:
Intel graphics?

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12634
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by cools » July 24th, 2013, 10:29 am

joeblade wrote:One thing on my display is @ 640x480 you can see very fine scanlines and im not that keen on the default HLSL config...is anyone running on a 640x480 monitor and has changed the settings to get better results?
Edit MAME.INI
effect scanlines.png

Make sure HLSL is disabled!
Image

User avatar
joeblade
You're looking good Tim
Posts: 814
Joined: September 13th, 2008, 6:18 pm
Location: London

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by joeblade » July 24th, 2013, 12:17 pm

pubjoe wrote:
joeblade wrote:In running the VMMAKER.EXE it only decided to add 8 additional modes but i take that's because my config is rather limited... :think:
Intel graphics?
No ati HD4650 mate, should be compatible, but i thought my limited modes were down to the fact im only running 640x480 31k?
For gods sake, its a carton box - not the holy grail!

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12634
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by cools » July 24th, 2013, 12:23 pm

Correct. With 31k you don't need all that many modes. In fact you can get away with just one if you make it wide enough - 1280x480 works well ;)
Image

User avatar
joeblade
You're looking good Tim
Posts: 814
Joined: September 13th, 2008, 6:18 pm
Location: London

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by joeblade » July 24th, 2013, 12:28 pm

cools wrote:
joeblade wrote:One thing on my display is @ 640x480 you can see very fine scanlines and im not that keen on the default HLSL config...is anyone running on a 640x480 monitor and has changed the settings to get better results?
Edit MAME.INI
effect scanlines.png

Make sure HLSL is disabled!
Thanks cools, HLSL is disabled...here are my .ini settings..anything glaringly obvious? :oops:

#
# CORE CONFIGURATION OPTIONS
#
readconfig 1
writeconfig 0

#
# CORE SEARCH PATH OPTIONS
#
rompath roms
hashpath hash
samplepath samples
artpath artwork
ctrlrpath ctrlr
inipath .;ini
fontpath .
cheatpath cheat
crosshairpath crosshair

#
# CORE OUTPUT DIRECTORY OPTIONS
#
cfg_directory cfg
nvram_directory nvram
memcard_directory memcard
input_directory inp
state_directory sta
snapshot_directory snap
diff_directory diff
comment_directory comments

#
# CORE OUTPUT DIRECTORY OPTIONS
#
hiscore_directory hi

#
# CORE STATE/PLAYBACK OPTIONS
#
state
autosave 0
playback
record
mngwrite
aviwrite
wavwrite
snapname %g/%i
snapsize auto
snapview internal
burnin 0

#
# CORE PERFORMANCE OPTIONS
#
autoframeskip 0
frameskip 0
seconds_to_run 0
throttle 1
syncrefresh 0
sleep 1
speed 1.0
refreshspeed 0

#
# CORE ROTATION OPTIONS
#
rotate 1
ror 0
rol 0
autoror 0
autorol 0
flipx 0
flipy 0

#
# CORE ARTWORK OPTIONS
#
artwork_crop 1
use_backdrops 0
use_overlays 0
use_bezels 0
use_cpanels 0
use_marquees 0

#
# CORE SCREEN OPTIONS
#
brightness 1.0
contrast 1.0
gamma 1.0
pause_brightness 0.65
effect none

#
# CORE VECTOR OPTIONS
#
antialias 1
beam 1.0
flicker 0

#
# CORE SOUND OPTIONS
#
sound 1
samplerate 48000
samples 1
volume 0

#
# CORE INPUT OPTIONS
#
coin_lockout 1
ctrlr
mouse 0
joystick 1
lightgun 0
multikeyboard 0
multimouse 0
steadykey 0
ui_active 0
offscreen_reload 0
joystick_map auto
joystick_deadzone 0.3
joystick_saturation 0.85
natural 0
joystick_contradictory 0
coin_impulse 0

#
# CORE INPUT AUTOMATIC ENABLE OPTIONS
#
paddle_device keyboard
adstick_device keyboard
pedal_device keyboard
dial_device keyboard
trackball_device keyboard
lightgun_device keyboard
positional_device keyboard
mouse_device mouse

#
# CORE DEBUGGING OPTIONS
#
log 0
verbose 0
update_in_pause 0
debug 0
debugscript
debug_internal 0

#
# CORE MISC OPTIONS
#
bios
cheat 0
skip_gameinfo 1
uifont default
ramsize
confirm_quit 0
ui_mouse 0

#
# CORE MKChamp OPTIONS
#
disable_hiscore_patch 0
disable_nagscreen_patch 0
disable_loading_patch 0

#
# CORE SWITCHRES OPTIONS
#
modeline 1
monitor arcade_31
orientation horizontal
connector auto
interlace 1
doublescan 1
cleanstretch 0
changeres 1
powerstrip 0
lock_system_modes 1
lock_unsupported_modes 1
refresh_dont_care 0
dotclock_min 0
sync_refresh_tolerance 2.0
frame_delay 0
lcd_range auto
crt_range0 auto
crt_range1 auto
crt_range2 auto
crt_range3 auto
crt_range4 auto
crt_range5 auto
crt_range6 auto
crt_range7 auto
crt_range8 auto
crt_range9 auto

#
# WINDOWS DEBUGGING OPTIONS
#
oslog 0
watchdog 0
debugger_font "Lucida Console"
debugger_font_size 9

#
# WINDOWS PERFORMANCE OPTIONS
#
priority 0
multithreading 1
numprocessors auto
profile 0
bench 0

#
# WINDOWS VIDEO OPTIONS
#
video d3d
numscreens 1
window 0
maximize 1
keepaspect 0
prescale 1
waitvsync 0
menu 0

#
# DIRECTDRAW-SPECIFIC OPTIONS
#
hwstretch 0

#
# DIRECT3D-SPECIFIC OPTIONS
#
d3dversion 9
filter 0

#
# DIRECT3D POST-PROCESSING OPTIONS
#
hlsl_enable 0
hlslpath hlsl
hlsl_ini_read 0
hlsl_ini_write 0
hlslini %g
hlsl_prescale_x 0
hlsl_prescale_y 0
hlsl_preset -1
hlsl_write
hlsl_snap_width 2048
hlsl_snap_height 1536
shadow_mask_alpha 0.0
shadow_mask_texture aperture.png
shadow_mask_x_count 320
shadow_mask_y_count 240
shadow_mask_usize 0.09375
shadow_mask_vsize 0.109375
curvature 0.0
pincushion 0.0
scanline_alpha 0.0
scanline_size 1.0
scanline_height 0.7
scanline_bright_scale 1.0
scanline_bright_offset 0.0
scanline_jitter 0.0
defocus 0.0,0.0
converge_x 0.0,0.0,0.0
converge_y 0.0,0.0,0.0
radial_converge_x 0.0,0.0,0.0
radial_converge_y 0.0,0.0,0.0
red_ratio 1.0,0.0,0.0
grn_ratio 0.0,1.0,0.0
blu_ratio 0.0,0.0,1.0
saturation 1.0
offset 0.0,0.0,0.0
scale 1.0,1.0,1.0
power 1.0,1.0,1.0
floor 0.0,0.0,0.0
phosphor_life 0.0,0.0,0.0
yiq_enable 0
yiq_cc 3.59754545
yiq_a 0.5
yiq_b 0.5
yiq_o 0.0
yiq_p 1.0
yiq_n 1.0
yiq_y 6.0
yiq_i 1.2
yiq_q 0.6
yiq_scan_time 52.6
yiq_phase_count 2

#
# PER-WINDOW VIDEO OPTIONS
#
screen auto
aspect auto
resolution auto
view auto
screen0 auto
aspect0 auto
resolution0 auto
view0 auto
screen1 auto
aspect1 auto
resolution1 auto
view1 auto
screen2 auto
aspect2 auto
resolution2 auto
view2 auto
screen3 auto
aspect3 auto
resolution3 auto
view3 auto

#
# FULL SCREEN OPTIONS
#
triplebuffer 0
switchres 1
full_screen_brightness 1.0
full_screen_contrast 1.0
full_screen_gamma 1.0

#
# WINDOWS SOUND OPTIONS
#
audio_latency 2

#
# INPUT DEVICE OPTIONS
#
dual_lightgun 0
For gods sake, its a carton box - not the holy grail!

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12634
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by cools » July 24th, 2013, 12:31 pm

effect none needs changing.
Image

User avatar
joeblade
You're looking good Tim
Posts: 814
Joined: September 13th, 2008, 6:18 pm
Location: London

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by joeblade » July 24th, 2013, 12:47 pm

cools wrote:effect none needs changing.
That's more like it!! Cheers cools 8-)

Interesting effect is if i set autorotate on, select vert game from initial menu fine...exit out of vert game, menu is running in vert now and can barely make out the writing....no biggie just interesting... :eh:
For gods sake, its a carton box - not the holy grail!

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12634
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by cools » July 24th, 2013, 12:49 pm

Oh, you also want frame_delay 1
Image

User avatar
joeblade
You're looking good Tim
Posts: 814
Joined: September 13th, 2008, 6:18 pm
Location: London

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by joeblade » July 24th, 2013, 12:55 pm

cools wrote:Oh, you also want frame_delay 1
Now were cooking, crikey this is bloody good, old stuff is awesome....never seen galaxian so crisp and responsive!! :awe:
For gods sake, its a carton box - not the holy grail!

User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 12634
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by cools » July 24th, 2013, 1:34 pm

I've modified the instructions according to your findings.

Still haven't found a frontend I like. It looks like I can abuse MAMEWAH's layout system to make something I like though. Hyperspin (the artwork project) is good, but the software is atrociously poorly thoughtout and I'm sick of it.
Image

User avatar
pubjoe
Fosters Political Ambitions
Posts: 9700
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 8:58 am
Location:

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Post by pubjoe » July 24th, 2013, 1:43 pm

If I get around to setting back up a mamebox, I'll stick with Mala.

Post Reply