It is currently December 18th, 2014, 8:29 pm. Last visit was:

360 Pad Hack Advice

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
User avatar
You can't polish a turd, but I can
Posts: 1064
Joined: 16th January 2011
Location: Herts, UK

360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby wonderbanana » February 24th, 2011, 3:02 pm

Just ordered one of viletim's scart--->jamma adapters with a view to (initially) running a 360 in an AWSD.

Video direct to VGA port in cab, audio through viletims board.

The board has screw terminals for wiring the pad hack to and I have a Mad Katz SFIV pad spare here. Are these good to use for a hack?

Can anyone point me to a specific guide for the hack and (hopefully) this particular pad?

Also the only other issue I have is 'grounding' which I am not familar with. The board has 2 GND terminals as seen here.

Do you wire a ground from the pad to this? And do you need to daisy chain a ground or something?
markedkiller78 wrote:that's probably my best contribution to the forum to date "I am pluralising fanny"

Posts: 179
Joined: 8th January 2009
Location: The Netherlands
eBay: barrybuise

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby joeks » February 24th, 2011, 3:46 pm

This site has lot's of info about joypad/joystick hacking and soldering.
http://slagcoin.com/joystick/pcb_diagra ... agram2.jpg

I used it when I wanted to hack my MadCatz Xbox360 arcadestick (the ugly cheap one, not the big fighter stick).

User avatar
The awe face model
Posts: 8350
Joined: 12th February 2009
Location: UK

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby Rossyra » February 24th, 2011, 4:09 pm

+1 for slagcoin

All your questions are answered there, there is also a padhack thread on SRK in the Tech Talk forum

http://shoryuken.com/f177/%2A-padhackin ... 2A-113675/
Image

Posts: 36
Joined: 23rd January 2009
Location: ¯\(°_o)/¯

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby n_nlemon » February 24th, 2011, 5:16 pm

360 pad hacks tend to be pretty flaky..

get a couple of p360s..

or for a cheaper solution;
my set up is PS1 pad hacks through PS2 to 360 adapters..
you need to use a wired 360 pad for the adapter to work.. I used a couple of 360 pad hacks that flaked (traces pulled off etc).
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/new-PS2-controller-Xbox-360-converter-adapter-cable-/220743581630?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item336557bfbe

the adapters are cheap and lag free..

p360s are the most elegant solution..
found: Pengo - original, Bubble Bobble - original
wanted: small jamma cab that will play them.. :P

User avatar
Breastfeeds when required
Posts: 6213
Joined: 7th April 2009
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
eBay: jorgen_sjolander

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby emphatic » February 24th, 2011, 5:40 pm

n_nlemon wrote:you need to use a wired 360 pad for the adapter to work.. I used a couple of 360 pad hacks that flaked (traces pulled off etc).
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/new-PS2-controller-Xbox-360-converter-adapter-cable-/220743581630?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item336557bfbe

the adapters are cheap and lag free..


Are you sure about the need for a wired controller on that model? IIRC, there's one that looks exactly like it that will work without a 360 controller. I'd go for a PS360 though, it's crazy easy and built like a tank (at least when compared to a pad hack).

Posts: 36
Joined: 23rd January 2009
Location: ¯\(°_o)/¯

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby n_nlemon » February 24th, 2011, 6:08 pm

emphatic wrote:
n_nlemon wrote:you need to use a wired 360 pad for the adapter to work.. I used a couple of 360 pad hacks that flaked (traces pulled off etc).
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/new-PS2-controller-Xbox-360-converter-adapter-cable-/220743581630?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item336557bfbe

the adapters are cheap and lag free..


Are you sure about the need for a wired controller on that model? IIRC, there's one that looks exactly like it that will work without a 360 controller. I'd go for a PS360 though, it's crazy easy and built like a tank (at least when compared to a pad hack).


that's the exact adapter I have, definitely needs a wired pad plugged in.. doesn't have the 360 chip onboard like the p360s..
found: Pengo - original, Bubble Bobble - original
wanted: small jamma cab that will play them.. :P

User avatar
The awe face model
Posts: 8350
Joined: 12th February 2009
Location: UK

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby Rossyra » February 24th, 2011, 6:18 pm

There are a few cheap Chinese ones kicking around that don't need the wired controller, I've read anectdotal reports they are a bit crap and laggy.

If you make a good enough job the padhack should be sturdy enough. If the workmanship is crap, then of course it will be unreliable. Hot glue stops the traces being yanked off.
Image

User avatar
Posts: 1623
Joined: 7th October 2008
Location: Canterbury, UK

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby DandySephy » February 24th, 2011, 6:21 pm

Rossyra wrote:If you make a good enough job the padhack should be sturdy enough. If the workmanship is crap, then of course it will be unreliable. Hot glue stops the traces being yanked off.

This is why mine are always **** and fall apart but the ones made by other people have been awesome :awe:

User avatar
The awe face model
Posts: 8350
Joined: 12th February 2009
Location: UK

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby Rossyra » February 24th, 2011, 6:41 pm

I take that as a compliment ;) :awe:
Image

Posts: 36
Joined: 23rd January 2009
Location: ¯\(°_o)/¯

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby n_nlemon » February 24th, 2011, 6:46 pm

Dandy_Sephy wrote:
Rossyra wrote:If you make a good enough job the padhack should be sturdy enough. If the workmanship is crap, then of course it will be unreliable. Hot glue stops the traces being yanked off.

This is why mine are always **** and fall apart but the ones made by other people have been awesome :awe:


mine have been lovingly soldered and hotglued.. the tiny traces are hard to live with, and HRAPs get treated vigorously in fighting game sessions ..
the SF4 pads are easier to work with from what i've heard..

avoid cheap laggy converters.. missed inputs suck..
check out the converter list on SRK for lag free solutions..
found: Pengo - original, Bubble Bobble - original
wanted: small jamma cab that will play them.. :P

User avatar
You can't polish a turd, but I can
Posts: 1064
Joined: 16th January 2011
Location: Herts, UK

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby wonderbanana » February 24th, 2011, 7:42 pm

Good info guys, thanks.

I did try and order a PS360 but Aki are out of stock.
markedkiller78 wrote:that's probably my best contribution to the forum to date "I am pluralising fanny"

User avatar
Breastfeeds when required
Posts: 6213
Joined: 7th April 2009
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
eBay: jorgen_sjolander

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby emphatic » February 24th, 2011, 7:49 pm

wonderbanana wrote:Good info guys, thanks.

I did try and order a PS360 but Aki are out of stock.


Code: Select all
http://www.focusattack.com/products/Akishop-PS360-Tri-Mod-Joystick-PCB-(3rd-Wave).html


Affiliated re-seller.

User avatar
You can't polish a turd, but I can
Posts: 1064
Joined: 16th January 2011
Location: Herts, UK

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby wonderbanana » February 24th, 2011, 11:10 pm

:awe:
markedkiller78 wrote:that's probably my best contribution to the forum to date "I am pluralising fanny"

User avatar
You can't polish a turd, but I can
Posts: 1064
Joined: 16th January 2011
Location: Herts, UK

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby wonderbanana » March 3rd, 2011, 4:06 pm

PS360 is on the way. 8-)

What kind of wire do I need to hook it up to viletims adapter? And can I use some kind of quick disconnects?
Last edited by wonderbanana on March 3rd, 2011, 7:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
markedkiller78 wrote:that's probably my best contribution to the forum to date "I am pluralising fanny"

User avatar
Breastfeeds when required
Posts: 6213
Joined: 7th April 2009
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
eBay: jorgen_sjolander

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby emphatic » March 3rd, 2011, 7:07 pm

wonderbanana wrote:PS360 is on the way. 8-)

What kind of wire do I need to hook it up to viletims adapater? And can I use some kind of quick disconnects?


You won't need quick disconnects at all if you're hooking it up to viletim's adapter. You can use pretty thin wires, I stripped a network cable and used the wires inside:

Image

Never mind the JAMMA female board in that picture.

User avatar
You can't polish a turd, but I can
Posts: 1064
Joined: 16th January 2011
Location: Herts, UK

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby wonderbanana » March 3rd, 2011, 7:52 pm

Cheers Emph; that picture is really useful.

So something like AWG 20 is ok?

Edit: By the way, worth checking underneath your adapter where the volume pot is; mine was not soldered.
markedkiller78 wrote:that's probably my best contribution to the forum to date "I am pluralising fanny"

User avatar
You can't polish a turd, but I can
Posts: 1064
Joined: 16th January 2011
Location: Herts, UK

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby wonderbanana » March 21st, 2011, 4:43 pm

Got the PS360 through today. Whats the wire that comes with it for?
markedkiller78 wrote:that's probably my best contribution to the forum to date "I am pluralising fanny"

User avatar
The awe face model
Posts: 8350
Joined: 12th February 2009
Location: UK

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby Rossyra » March 21st, 2011, 4:52 pm

USB wire alternative to the B plug, good if you're replacing a PCB rather than starting from scratch
Image

User avatar
You can't polish a turd, but I can
Posts: 1064
Joined: 16th January 2011
Location: Herts, UK

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby wonderbanana » March 21st, 2011, 5:11 pm

Rossyra wrote:USB wire alternative to the B plug, good if you're replacing a PCB rather than starting from scratch


Thanks :awe:

So I guess I could strip the wire from it and use it for the screw terminals then :mrgreen:
markedkiller78 wrote:that's probably my best contribution to the forum to date "I am pluralising fanny"

User avatar
You can't polish a turd, but I can
Posts: 1064
Joined: 16th January 2011
Location: Herts, UK

Re: 360 Pad Hack Advice

Postby wonderbanana » March 21st, 2011, 9:49 pm

emphatic wrote:
You won't need quick disconnects at all if you're hooking it up to viletim's adapter. You can use pretty thin wires, I stripped a network cable and used the wires inside:

Image

Never mind the JAMMA female board in that picture.


Do you just connect the 1 ground connection to the ground on VT's board?
markedkiller78 wrote:that's probably my best contribution to the forum to date "I am pluralising fanny"

Next

Return to Cabinet Q&A



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users