Blast City MS-2930 issues

For monitor related issues
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
geert01
Posts: 7
Joined: September 23rd, 2016, 3:13 pm
eBay: braam01
Location: Netherlands

Blast City MS-2930 issues

Postby geert01 » July 7th, 2017, 8:30 am

Hi Guys,

I'm having some strange issues with my MS-2930 screen.

Using a 15khz/24khz signal from my pi2jamma, the screen is nicely filled and a decent picture is displayed.

However, when I switch to my Sega Naomi on 31khz, the horizontal picture doesn't fill the screen completely and seems to be missing about an inch on the left and right. this cannot be compensated with the h-size adjustment, since I allready have it set to max.

Are there any other potmeters I could check out on the chassis? or do you guys have other suggestions?

Thanks a bunch!
regards Geert
User avatar
LegoYoda
Posts: 112
Joined: December 21st, 2012, 1:27 pm
Aliases: neomonster voltamp
eBay: neomonster
Gamertag: legoyoda
Initials: AGD
Location: South East UK
Contact:

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Postby LegoYoda » July 7th, 2017, 12:52 pm

I think mine does that also..... let me check tonight or tomorrow..... I'm sure it doesnt fill the screen, but i'm not sure it's as bad as you say (havent played the Naomi in a while...
Alec
----------------------------------------
Owning a Blast City: Fixing and Repairing -http://retrogamingstuff.wordpress.com/
User avatar
nem
Posts: 699
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Postby nem » July 7th, 2017, 3:38 pm

Have you adjusted horizontal size limit on the chassis? IIRC there's a separate pot for it.
geert01
Posts: 7
Joined: September 23rd, 2016, 3:13 pm
eBay: braam01
Location: Netherlands

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Postby geert01 » July 7th, 2017, 9:01 pm

Hi Nem,

that sound like a possible solution :) I'll have a look at it and see if i can find it on the chassis
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4610
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Aliases: gunblade
Location: down south

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Postby grantspain » July 7th, 2017, 9:55 pm

nem wrote:Have you adjusted horizontal size limit on the chassis? IIRC there's a separate pot for it.


exactly
geert01
Posts: 7
Joined: September 23rd, 2016, 3:13 pm
eBay: braam01
Location: Netherlands

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Postby geert01 » July 7th, 2017, 9:59 pm

Its kinda hard for me to read the text near the pots, is there any kind of schematic where the different pota are explained? I found a h.h. 31 which seems to adjust the horizontal placing of the screen. But don't dare to adjust the pots I cannot read ;)
User avatar
LegoYoda
Posts: 112
Joined: December 21st, 2012, 1:27 pm
Aliases: neomonster voltamp
eBay: neomonster
Gamertag: legoyoda
Initials: AGD
Location: South East UK
Contact:

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Postby LegoYoda » July 9th, 2017, 5:46 pm

LegoYoda wrote:I think mine does that also..... let me check tonight or tomorrow..... I'm sure it doesnt fill the screen, but i'm not sure it's as bad as you say (havent played the Naomi in a while...



UPDATE. Mine does this too but not to the same degree as yours.
Alec
----------------------------------------
Owning a Blast City: Fixing and Repairing -http://retrogamingstuff.wordpress.com/
User avatar
nem
Posts: 699
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Postby nem » July 9th, 2017, 9:07 pm

I think it's something like H.S.LIM.
geert01
Posts: 7
Joined: September 23rd, 2016, 3:13 pm
eBay: braam01
Location: Netherlands

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Postby geert01 » July 10th, 2017, 3:49 pm

You guys are awesome! found a pot covered in dust that read something like H.S.l*** and that one did the trick :D

Screen is fully utilized now :D
geert01
Posts: 7
Joined: September 23rd, 2016, 3:13 pm
eBay: braam01
Location: Netherlands

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Postby geert01 » July 20th, 2017, 9:25 am

Now that this issue is resolved, does anyone have an adress where I could order convergence strips? :awe:
User avatar
nem
Posts: 699
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Postby nem » July 20th, 2017, 2:50 pm

http://www.ebay.com/itm/322568092450

This guys sells them. Out of stock currently, but you could put up an alert.

Alternatively, you could make your own. Instructions are available on the Arcade-Museum forum.

Return to “Monitor Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users