Page 1 of 1

Blast City MS-2930 issues

Posted: July 7th, 2017, 8:30 am
by geert01
Hi Guys,

I'm having some strange issues with my MS-2930 screen.

Using a 15khz/24khz signal from my pi2jamma, the screen is nicely filled and a decent picture is displayed.

However, when I switch to my Sega Naomi on 31khz, the horizontal picture doesn't fill the screen completely and seems to be missing about an inch on the left and right. this cannot be compensated with the h-size adjustment, since I allready have it set to max.

Are there any other potmeters I could check out on the chassis? or do you guys have other suggestions?

Thanks a bunch!
regards Geert

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Posted: July 7th, 2017, 12:52 pm
by LegoYoda
I think mine does that also..... let me check tonight or tomorrow..... I'm sure it doesnt fill the screen, but i'm not sure it's as bad as you say (havent played the Naomi in a while...

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Posted: July 7th, 2017, 3:38 pm
by nem
Have you adjusted horizontal size limit on the chassis? IIRC there's a separate pot for it.

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Posted: July 7th, 2017, 9:01 pm
by geert01
Hi Nem,

that sound like a possible solution :) I'll have a look at it and see if i can find it on the chassis

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Posted: July 7th, 2017, 9:55 pm
by grantspain
nem wrote:Have you adjusted horizontal size limit on the chassis? IIRC there's a separate pot for it.


exactly

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Posted: July 7th, 2017, 9:59 pm
by geert01
Its kinda hard for me to read the text near the pots, is there any kind of schematic where the different pota are explained? I found a h.h. 31 which seems to adjust the horizontal placing of the screen. But don't dare to adjust the pots I cannot read ;)

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Posted: July 9th, 2017, 5:46 pm
by LegoYoda
LegoYoda wrote:I think mine does that also..... let me check tonight or tomorrow..... I'm sure it doesnt fill the screen, but i'm not sure it's as bad as you say (havent played the Naomi in a while...



UPDATE. Mine does this too but not to the same degree as yours.

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Posted: July 9th, 2017, 9:07 pm
by nem
I think it's something like H.S.LIM.

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Posted: July 10th, 2017, 3:49 pm
by geert01
You guys are awesome! found a pot covered in dust that read something like H.S.l*** and that one did the trick :D

Screen is fully utilized now :D

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Posted: July 20th, 2017, 9:25 am
by geert01
Now that this issue is resolved, does anyone have an adress where I could order convergence strips? :awe:

Re: Blast City MS-2930 issues

Posted: July 20th, 2017, 2:50 pm
by nem
http://www.ebay.com/itm/322568092450

This guys sells them. Out of stock currently, but you could put up an alert.

Alternatively, you could make your own. Instructions are available on the Arcade-Museum forum.