ms9 no sync

For monitor related issues
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
brad808
Posts: 26
Joined: August 31st, 2011, 1:02 am

ms9 no sync

Postby brad808 » February 21st, 2017, 12:53 am

I have an ms9 that got high voltage sent down the ground chain now has no sync. I have no wave on TP1. I've replaced q101 and u101 as per flowchart. Still no pulse. Any suggestions?
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4549
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Aliases: gunblade
Location: down south

Re: ms9 no sync

Postby grantspain » February 21st, 2017, 7:25 am

what is the actual model number of the chassis,is it a standard ms9-29?
brad808
Posts: 26
Joined: August 31st, 2011, 1:02 am

Re: ms9 no sync

Postby brad808 » February 21st, 2017, 4:41 pm

Hello it is an auto switching ms9a
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4549
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Aliases: gunblade
Location: down south

Re: ms9 no sync

Postby grantspain » February 21st, 2017, 5:50 pm

ok so when you say its not sync do you mean its rolling or there is no sync?
brad808
Posts: 26
Joined: August 31st, 2011, 1:02 am

Re: ms9 no sync

Postby brad808 » February 21st, 2017, 5:53 pm

No sync, just coloured lines. Picture is not rolling though.
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4549
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Aliases: gunblade
Location: down south

Re: ms9 no sync

Postby grantspain » February 21st, 2017, 6:09 pm

right so you have lost horizontal hold
does the h.hold pot have any affect on the picture?
brad808
Posts: 26
Joined: August 31st, 2011, 1:02 am

Re: ms9 no sync

Postby brad808 » February 22nd, 2017, 1:45 am

Yes the hold pot is still working
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4549
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Aliases: gunblade
Location: down south

Re: ms9 no sync

Postby grantspain » February 22nd, 2017, 5:47 am

and you have proved signal and wiring?
brad808
Posts: 26
Joined: August 31st, 2011, 1:02 am

Re: ms9 no sync

Postby brad808 » February 22nd, 2017, 11:48 am

Yes it is being tested on versus city, player 2 monitor is working perfect. Plus I have other ms9 in player 1 side working. All signal is working properly going to monitor.
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4549
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Aliases: gunblade
Location: down south

Re: ms9 no sync

Postby grantspain » February 23rd, 2017, 5:27 pm

the other chassis are they auto switching as well?
brad808
Posts: 26
Joined: August 31st, 2011, 1:02 am

Re: ms9 no sync

Postby brad808 » February 23rd, 2017, 5:33 pm

I have one auto switching in versus city and 4 other non auto switch.

Originally both auto switch were in versus, originally I unplug player one to test other monitor and fried player 2. Now I have one auto in player one and one manual in player 2 until I fix the auto switch for player 2.
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4549
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Aliases: gunblade
Location: down south

Re: ms9 no sync

Postby grantspain » February 23rd, 2017, 5:38 pm

ok i was trying to work out if the auto could not detect the sync due to two monitors connected to the same source but obviously it can as it was ok previously

have you swapped out the la7853 yet?
brad808
Posts: 26
Joined: August 31st, 2011, 1:02 am

Re: ms9 no sync

Postby brad808 » February 23rd, 2017, 5:53 pm

No I haven't. That's the next step for me?
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4549
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Aliases: gunblade
Location: down south

Re: ms9 no sync

Postby grantspain » February 23rd, 2017, 5:54 pm

well i can't see anything else on the sync line that would cause

what exactly happened to cause the fault
brad808
Posts: 26
Joined: August 31st, 2011, 1:02 am

Re: ms9 no sync

Postby brad808 » February 23rd, 2017, 6:02 pm

OK, I'll swap it and report back.

Person gave me monitor to test, I plugged it in player 1 side, it smoked, fried jpac, USB bank, player 2 monitor. There was resistor leg touching ground sent HV down ground line. Was dumb mistake on my part.
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4549
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Aliases: gunblade
Location: down south

Re: ms9 no sync

Postby grantspain » February 23rd, 2017, 6:04 pm

i had something similar last week but not a ms9
it caused me a lot of problems

Return to “Monitor Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users