Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

For monitor related issues
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
Nicomyst
Posts: 6
Joined: June 23rd, 2011, 9:40 pm

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby Nicomyst » January 22nd, 2012, 6:09 pm

I find an other function to go Up than 100 cotrast.
You have More than 200 contrast and More than 200 brit.

Put 0ohm between pin 38 and 42. (where BOERGI find nothing)
While pressing you go to normal menu and now contrast is unlock.

I
User avatar
monouchi
Posts: 984
Joined: February 21st, 2010, 6:16 pm
eBay: monouchi_jn
Initials: BUS
Location: Sweden

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby monouchi » January 22nd, 2012, 7:11 pm

Nicomyst wrote:I find an other function to go Up than 100 cotrast.
You have More than 200 contrast and More than 200 brit.

Put 0ohm between pin 38 and 42. (where BOERGI find nothing)
While pressing you go to normal menu and now contrast is unlock.

I


Interesting.
...wonder how much we can find, remember what Jomac wrote:

"It isn't a hidden menu it has an extended menu that is only accessible with a custom factory remote board , of course they didn't release it for sale but I did see one , it has 11 buttons on it.
I wish they would lend it too me to copy!! but it could be made , what it uses is 4 wires , 1 is gnd , then the first wire after that has 4 switches each with a resistor in series , so the 4th switch has all 4 resistors in series.
The second wire has 3 switches , the 4th wire has another 4 switches , It should be too hard to work with a small resistance wheel . , I have never had time to sit there and play around for a couple of hours but will have too eventually "
Niraflen
Posts: 27
Joined: August 13th, 2011, 5:25 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby Niraflen » January 24th, 2012, 1:37 pm

SuperPang wrote:
ikaruga007 wrote:Pang, my contrast goes to 100 max and the contrast and brightness settings on the hidden color adjustment menu is just mirroring the value set in the normal menu.

That's reassuring. Unless there's another menu, my other Tosh PF must be a different model. I don't really need the extended menu at all really :P I got lucky. This technique will be a godsend for anyone who got a NNC with iffy geometry and thought they'd have to live with it.


My 051 has some geometry issues, but the one that really has a major visual impact is some s-compression problems (meaning the left and right extremities of the image are narrower than the rest of the image, more visible as the size of the projected image is reduced, also less noticeable when used in 15khz mode). The results is that horizontal scrolling (in vertical mode) looks like things are 'rolling' onto and off of the screen. Curiously enough, this is less noticeable when the monitor's oriented vertically, but this is probably just because of the vantage point of where the player is sitting (it ends up being very noticeable when things roll on from the top, but your eyes aren't really focussed on where things are rolling off at the bottom). Games should scroll, not roll. Now I see an s-correction option on one of the two menus which sounds like the answer. I'm just nervous about modifying the board, haha.

This is definitely a 'shut up and take my money' situation. :mrgreen:

Well done monouchi.
Niraflen
Posts: 27
Joined: August 13th, 2011, 5:25 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby Niraflen » January 28th, 2012, 3:22 pm

So I went and made the modifications to my controller board (happens to have a different model number on it than the one in monouchi's photo but it's the same design). I'm going to have to resolder the wire on pin 40, but otherwise it works perfectly and I have access to both the colour and geometry menus, so take that as another confirmation of this. Here's a fun ASCII diagram:

Code: Select all

Pin 39 -------------------------- (switch 1 terminal 1) ------/------\
                                                              |      |---|
                                                              |      |   | (Microswitch/Button) Colour
                                                              |      |---|
Pin 42 -------------------------- (switch 1 terminal 2) ------\------/
                                        |
                                        | (ground wire link)
                                        |
                                  (switch 2 terminal 1) ------/------\
                                                              |      |---|
                                                              |      |   | (Microswitch/Button) Geometry
                                                              |      |---|
Pin 40 ----[3.9kOhm Resistor]---- (switch 2 terminal 2) ------\------/

Unfortunately for me, I found out that the s-correction adjustment in the menu is for vertical compression only. The primary issue I need to correct is horizontal compression. Between that and a bit of fuzziness in the upper left corner and a bit of "sag" in the lower right corner, it loosk like I'll need to get my monitor's PCBs recapped (the values for which were all recently documented here on AO and are in the wiki). That's a job I'd rather have someone with more experience do.
Nicomyst
Posts: 6
Joined: June 23rd, 2011, 9:40 pm

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby Nicomyst » February 19th, 2012, 4:35 pm

monouchi wrote:I also got the H-freq at higher ohms on pin 39, but I didnt bother to add that button.

Image


Hi ! I don't find the h freq ... When you say "at higher ohms", what is the ohms value ?
I have some synch problem with MVS on my new net city.
User avatar
monouchi
Posts: 984
Joined: February 21st, 2010, 6:16 pm
eBay: monouchi_jn
Initials: BUS
Location: Sweden

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby monouchi » February 19th, 2012, 4:41 pm

Nicomyst wrote:
monouchi wrote:I also got the H-freq at higher ohms on pin 39, but I didnt bother to add that button.

Image


Hi ! I don't find the h freq ... When you say "at higher ohms", what is the ohms value ?
I have some synch problem with MVS on my new net city.



Oh, I belive that is a Composite/Vert sync issue.
Nicomyst
Posts: 6
Joined: June 23rd, 2011, 9:40 pm

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby Nicomyst » February 21st, 2012, 10:00 pm

Ok ! I Will try to fix it.
For The h freq what is the value of the pot ?
User avatar
monouchi
Posts: 984
Joined: February 21st, 2010, 6:16 pm
eBay: monouchi_jn
Initials: BUS
Location: Sweden

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby monouchi » February 22nd, 2012, 6:53 am

Nicomyst wrote:Ok ! I Will try to fix it.
For The h freq what is the value of the pot ?


If you have a D29C051, then we havent found the H-freq yet, that is only for earlier models.
User avatar
ikaruga007
Posts: 320
Joined: May 12th, 2010, 2:01 pm
eBay: dex511
Gamertag: cobrakikikaikai
Initials: PJN
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby ikaruga007 » February 26th, 2012, 9:53 pm

I've updated the wiki page with info about the extended menus.
http://wiki.arcadeotaku.com/w/Toshiba_PF_D29C051

So now, even more people can spend time tweaking with their cabs instead of enjoying their games :awe:
User avatar
emphatic
Breastfeeds when required
Posts: 6919
Joined: April 7th, 2009, 4:14 pm
Aliases: emphatic everywhere, baby!
eBay: jorgen_sjolander
Gamertag: emphatic001
Initials: JOR
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby emphatic » February 26th, 2012, 10:15 pm

ikaruga007 wrote:I've updated the wiki page with info about the extended menus.
http://wiki.arcadeotaku.com/w/Toshiba_PF_D29C051

So now, even more people can spend time tweaking with their cabs instead of enjoying their games :awe:


Nice work! :thumbup:
User avatar
davewellington
The Librarian
Posts: 1594
Joined: July 7th, 2010, 1:42 am
Aliases: dave_wellington
PSN: dave_wellington
Initials: DAV
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby davewellington » February 26th, 2012, 10:38 pm

Wow, excellent work!!
all your wiki pages belong to me
User avatar
monouchi
Posts: 984
Joined: February 21st, 2010, 6:16 pm
eBay: monouchi_jn
Initials: BUS
Location: Sweden

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby monouchi » February 27th, 2012, 6:00 am

ikaruga007 wrote:I've updated the wiki page with info about the extended menus.
http://wiki.arcadeotaku.com/w/Toshiba_PF_D29C051

So now, even more people can spend time tweaking with their cabs instead of enjoying their games :awe:


Awesome! :D
Pioulu
Posts: 3
Joined: February 28th, 2012, 4:43 pm

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby Pioulu » February 28th, 2012, 8:45 pm

Hi !!
Thanks for the tuto !

With members of Neo-Arcadia, we had create a new PCB !

First protoypes:
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=276036DSC8547.jpg
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=726257DSC8549.jpg
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=863575IMAG0124.jpg

At this time, a MAJ of PCB is realised by a member.

Thanks Boergi !
User avatar
monouchi
Posts: 984
Joined: February 21st, 2010, 6:16 pm
eBay: monouchi_jn
Initials: BUS
Location: Sweden

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby monouchi » February 29th, 2012, 5:40 am

Pioulu wrote:Hi !!
Thanks for the tuto !

With members of Neo-Arcadia, we had create a new PCB !

First protoypes:
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=276036DSC8547.jpg
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=726257DSC8549.jpg
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=863575IMAG0124.jpg

At this time, a MAJ of PCB is realised by a member.

Thanks Boergi !


Cool, did you guys find any more functions?
Pioulu
Posts: 3
Joined: February 28th, 2012, 4:43 pm

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby Pioulu » March 4th, 2012, 4:12 pm

Hi

No more function, just the function for Brigt and Contrast to "200" (Nicomyst !!) , in the PCB is the interruptor for active or no the function.
The HFREQ don't active in D29C051 with platine PD1843 and PD2367.

With this platine, I don't know: PB6643 - PB7534 - PB9929

Bye
User avatar
goatboy
Posts: 913
Joined: October 5th, 2008, 3:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby goatboy » March 14th, 2012, 7:54 am

Pioulu wrote:Hi !!
Thanks for the tuto !

With members of Neo-Arcadia, we had create a new PCB !

First protoypes:
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=276036DSC8547.jpg
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=726257DSC8549.jpg
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=863575IMAG0124.jpg

At this time, a MAJ of PCB is realised by a member.

Thanks Boergi !


Would love to buy one of these when they're being produced. Excellent work! :awe:
User avatar
andygeezer
Blue Skies Ahead
Posts: 3030
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 12:25 pm
Aliases: Andy
Initials: AGS
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby andygeezer » March 14th, 2012, 7:38 pm

goatboy wrote:
Pioulu wrote:Hi !!
Thanks for the tuto !

With members of Neo-Arcadia, we had create a new PCB !

First protoypes:
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=276036DSC8547.jpg
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=726257DSC8549.jpg
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=863575IMAG0124.jpg

At this time, a MAJ of PCB is realised by a member.

Thanks Boergi !


Would love to buy one of these when they're being produced. Excellent work! :awe:


Same would like a unit here..
Say hello to my little friend...
Image
User avatar
scogon
Posts: 84
Joined: September 15th, 2008, 1:40 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby scogon » March 15th, 2012, 4:19 pm

same, was hoping someone would build one, that's great!
User avatar
grantspain
Tech Head
Posts: 4549
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Aliases: gunblade
Location: down south

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby grantspain » March 16th, 2012, 11:45 pm

excellent thread this is,well done to everyone who worked on this
User avatar
markedkiller78
Not gay, "adventurous"
Posts: 7946
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:53 pm
PSN: markedkiller78
Initials: MAL
Location: Glasgow

Re: Toshiba Pure Flat (D29CQ56) Extended Menu

Postby markedkiller78 » March 21st, 2012, 9:06 pm

Add me to the list of people that need a custom remote board :)
Neo_Arcadia wrote:are you simple or something ?

Return to “Monitor Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users