TV tube into arcade monitor

For monitor related issues
Akuma
Can't stay away from students
eBay: Akuma.from.the.Arcade

TV tube into arcade monitor

Post by Akuma »

Okay guys,

I'd like to start this topic since I want to try this in 2011, even though I am a bloody beginner when it comes to CRTs...

First thing I wonder is focus - I know there are single focus and dual focus monitors - whatever they do... Is this focus part of the tube or part of the yoke?

Reason why I am asking: I got a 29 inch TV which has a pure flat tube which I'd like to use for this project. If I am not mistaken, pure flat monitors are usually dual focus? So if this is part of the tube, I'll need a yoke and chassis to match - right? But if it depends on the yoke, I could even put on a single focus yoke and chassis on? Of course always given that yoke and chassis are compatible in terms of resistance...
Mellor
Please Continue...
Initials: MEL

Re: TV tube into arcade monitor

Post by Mellor »

I can't help with your answers but I am interested in how you get on if you post your progress. Always dirt cheap TV's 29" in size going on Ebay and they are supposed to be of better quality than arcade tubes!

I have heard of people saying it is a dual focus CRT, I believe they are talking about the tube. There are dual focus neckboards so I assume they plug in onto dual focus tubes. I don't understand either so I am certainly not sure!

I can't even find any info explaining the differences online!
Akuma

Post by Akuma »

Ah yes, sure - I want to document my progress here so we have some sort of tutorial at best... :awe:
Akuma

Post by Akuma »

Yes, I know that you can just hack the scart, but that's the ghetto solution and I want to do it properly (as always ; ) e.g. - real arcade chassis :awe:
nem
Needs a custom rank

Post by nem »