Will the monitor fit?

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
Mazinkaiser
Posts: 6
Joined: June 15th, 2017, 2:36 am
Location: Honduras

Will the monitor fit?

Postby Mazinkaiser » August 13th, 2017, 5:23 am

Hi guys i have the ability to get a blast city that has a non working monitor. I have found a good replacement nanao ms9-29a the question is has anyone replaced the blast city monitor with the one from an astro city also im planning on installing it vertical and just use it jamma 15k let me know thank you :awe:
User avatar
nem
Posts: 723
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Will the monitor fit?

Postby nem » August 13th, 2017, 1:18 pm

The bezel won't be flush against the screen. However, I seem to remember the screen sitting lower, so at least you don't have to remove it altogether.
User avatar
mufunyo
Posts: 734
Joined: August 21st, 2008, 12:26 am
Aliases: mf, muf
eBay: mufunyo
Gamertag: mufunyo
PSN: mindflyer
Initials: MUF
Location: Eindhoven, NL
Contact:

Re: Will the monitor fit?

Postby mufunyo » August 13th, 2017, 2:18 pm

My advice: never get a Blast without a (working) monitor.
Image
User avatar
nem
Posts: 723
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Will the monitor fit?

Postby nem » August 13th, 2017, 5:13 pm

mufunyo wrote:My advice: never get a Blast without a (working) monitor.


Why's that?
User avatar
mufunyo
Posts: 734
Joined: August 21st, 2008, 12:26 am
Aliases: mf, muf
eBay: mufunyo
Gamertag: mufunyo
PSN: mindflyer
Initials: MUF
Location: Eindhoven, NL
Contact:

Re: Will the monitor fit?

Postby mufunyo » August 13th, 2017, 7:07 pm

nem wrote:
mufunyo wrote:My advice: never get a Blast without a (working) monitor.


Why's that?

Because Blast monitors are dropping like flies lately and repairmen increasingly refuse to work on them. I've noticed more and more people give up on trying to get their Blast back in working condition and simply shift the burden on an unwitting buyer.
Image
User avatar
nem
Posts: 723
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Will the monitor fit?

Postby nem » August 14th, 2017, 9:58 am

I have been running eleven Blast City cabs for close to two years almost daily. All of them have their original monitors (mostly MS2930, two of them have MS2931 IIRC) and every single has been working just fine. I think the monitor issue has been overblown massively.

Oh, and all of them have the black goop of death :lol:

Return to “Cabinet Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users