Help with Egret II Volume pot, knob or whatever its name is

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
User avatar
FrenchTaunter
Posts: 4
Joined: May 18th, 2017, 7:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Help with Egret II Volume pot, knob or whatever its name is

Postby FrenchTaunter » May 18th, 2017, 8:32 pm

Hi folks !

So yes, my sweet Egret II has a little problem...
That little thing that controls the audio volume is broken... :'(

Here you can see the pannel (sorry, I don't know why the pic is like that). That thing beneath the 2 red buttons is my volume pot...
Image

Here it is
Image

Without fingers ^^
Image

Here is, i think, an original panel where we can see what I should have beneath the 2 red buttons...
Image

I just can't find the ref of this piece ! :'( If anyone knows the name, or the reference, of this piece you would save my playtime ! ^^

Someone told me it was something like that : ( http://www.ebay.com/itm/25W-100-Ohm-Rou ... 1542708278 ), but we're not sure it's the correct one...

Know that if I don't find the help I need, I will taunt you endlessly, I will "faire chier la vache" on you, and then I will throw at you anything I have here : Cows, Ducks, Roosters, Salads, Swallows from Europe, Swallows from Africa with coconuts attached to their feet, etc,....

Thx in advance guys !
User avatar
OlDirty
Posts: 266
Joined: January 12th, 2015, 8:26 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Help with Egret II Volume pot, knob or whatever its name is

Postby OlDirty » May 19th, 2017, 9:57 am

Is the potentiometer broken or you're missing just a knob? I've never seen a Egret 2 with a volume knob. My one also came without a knob. I guess originaly it didn't have one. :roll:
User avatar
mastercello
Posts: 1026
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 11:42 am
eBay: mastercello
Gamertag: mastercello
Initials: BUS
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Help with Egret II Volume pot, knob or whatever its name is

Postby mastercello » May 19th, 2017, 9:59 am

The man is right...if you're just missing the knob -> this is normal.
If your potentiometer is broken then you need a silimar one (size and Ohm value).
User avatar
FrenchTaunter
Posts: 4
Joined: May 18th, 2017, 7:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Help with Egret II Volume pot, knob or whatever its name is

Postby FrenchTaunter » May 19th, 2017, 7:47 pm

Thanks a lot guys !
Well I just bought this :
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Through-Panel ... eOPIDBkixg
So if you're right, and if it's just the knob missing : cool for me ! ^^
I must admit that it quite surprises me to hear you say "no knob = normal" ! I'm not a specialist but honestly I hardly believe this... Especially in my case, since it simply doesn't work I have no sound, I really doubt Taito would launch something this way... I don't know...

If simply putting a new knob is not right, I guess I'll have to change the whole "volume potentiometer unit" and I don't know at all what to buy... Maybe something like that ? :
http://www.joystick-arcade.com/fr/acces ... 0-ohm.html

Anyway thanks a lot for the messages guys !
User avatar
DaveyD
Posts: 137
Joined: December 9th, 2014, 7:14 am
eBay: Dr_Daph
Initials: DPD
Location: Grimsby, UK

Re: Help with Egret II Volume pot, knob or whatever its name is

Postby DaveyD » May 20th, 2017, 9:31 am

Are you saying that you think the volume pot doesn't work because the knob is missing?
User avatar
FrenchTaunter
Posts: 4
Joined: May 18th, 2017, 7:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Help with Egret II Volume pot, knob or whatever its name is

Postby FrenchTaunter » May 20th, 2017, 10:28 am

Ah... Errr... Wow no... :oops: At the beginning I was mostly looking for some little help to get the name, or maybe the correct ref, of the knob yes, but mostly to get the name/ref of the whole volume potentiometer unit...

I tried to simply put another knob (from pc audio unit) but didn't work... I tried to find a spot where it could hold still but it didn't... I tried all this before boring people on forums... Since it didn't work, since it's my 1st cab, and since i'm a total zero in tech stuff, I asked for some help on forums... I was just looking for names/ref...

Maybe I didn't understand well some of the answers I got, if so I'm really sorry... I guess my english skills are not good enough to explain correctly my issues, or to understand well some of the answers I got... (Or maybe forums are just not for me ! ^^) Sorry... Won't bother you anymore... :oops:
User avatar
DaveyD
Posts: 137
Joined: December 9th, 2014, 7:14 am
eBay: Dr_Daph
Initials: DPD
Location: Grimsby, UK

Re: Help with Egret II Volume pot, knob or whatever its name is

Postby DaveyD » May 20th, 2017, 12:10 pm

Sorry i must have mis understood what you are after :oops:

If its just the potentiometer you need, the details are usually stamped or printed onto the side of it. It will have a value in Ohm, and say either Lin, or Log. As long as you get one with the same details it will work.

Because these arcade machines are commercial items they often didnt put knobs on things like potentiometers as it is just more cost, and once its setup in an arcade it usually isn't adjusted for a long time so no need for a fancy knob
User avatar
zak
Posts: 437
Joined: October 19th, 2014, 1:35 pm
eBay: hasan_matar
Location: UK

Re: Help with Egret II Volume pot, knob or whatever its name is

Postby zak » May 20th, 2017, 2:32 pm

(cue fancy knob joke) :awe:

Return to “Cabinet Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users