Little Restauration for OK Baby Cab

Arcade cabinet hardware and accessories
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
User avatar
Shadolf
Posts: 193
Joined: November 6th, 2014, 12:20 pm
Location: South Germany

Re: Little Restauration for OK Baby Cab

Postby Shadolf » March 24th, 2017, 4:05 pm

tomiii wrote:
Shadolf wrote:Does it have a 28" or 29" monitor?
I´ve seen that on the side decals it says Screen Size 28" - 29".
That confuses me a little.


Many cabs have different Tubes for an model.
The Baby cabs comes with Orion(28") or Pentranic (28" or 29"). Mine got an 29 Pentranic.
But i will swap it for an 28" Grundig (with an Philips tube) .

http://wiki.arcadeotaku.com/w/WeChe_OK_Baby
There`s an instruction.


What about the bezel? Does the 29" bezel fit the 28" tube?
Would it be possible to use 28" tube on every 29" cab??
User avatar
arcadista
Posts: 27
Joined: October 20th, 2015, 3:13 am
Initials: AIL
Location: Buenos Aires

Re: Little Restauration for OK Baby Cab

Postby arcadista » March 25th, 2017, 1:52 am

Shadolf wrote:For 200 I would definately take one or two. I would prefer 25" cabs these days, but they are on the rare side. And 200 is OK :D . It's a cab one can be creative without destroying something. You get me?! Never saw one on offer. What forum was it?


I find it quite funny how things are. I am in Argentina and the only candys to be found are mostly aero city and ok baby. Lots of them.
Not cheap and not in great shape ofcourse., But here it is super rare to find astros, let alone blast city mvs cabs and taito's that I see so much around here
Another chinese cab seen quite often is the ok baby's big brother, the 33" Ok jumbo.
User avatar
tomiii
Posts: 31
Joined: January 18th, 2017, 7:35 am
Location: Austria

Re: Little Restauration for OK Baby Cab

Postby tomiii » March 27th, 2017, 2:14 pm

Shadolf wrote:What about the bezel? Does the 29" bezel fit the 28" tube?
Would it be possible to use 28" tube on every 29" cab??

Normally it should work, 1Zoll ist not a big difference. But there a 3 tubeshapes: flat , semi-curved,curved . This should be like the old Tube.
Remember the tube-holder is to adapt! When you use an arcadechassis, then the tube and chassis must fit together. (I take the TV chassis)
On the Link you see an switch with the same Cab/TV: http://www.arcadezentrum.com/forum/index.php?thread/23898-ok-baby-monitor-transplantation/

arcadista wrote:I find it quite funny how things are. I am in Argentina and the only candys to be found are mostly aero city and ok baby. Lots of them.
Not cheap and not in great shape ofcourse., But here it is super rare to find astros, let alone blast city mvs cabs and taito's that I see so much around here
Another chinese cab seen quite often is the ok baby's big brother, the 33" Ok jumbo.

Astros cab are very nice cabs, but the new astro is the king^^
Ok Jumbo are very rare at europe and the Q Baby too (Blast clon ?) http://wiki.arcadeotaku.com/w/WeChe_Q_Baby
User avatar
tomiii
Posts: 31
Joined: January 18th, 2017, 7:35 am
Location: Austria

Re: Little Restauration for OK Baby Cab

Postby tomiii » April 21st, 2017, 11:19 am

So i finished my Royal Video Cab and now i will work on the OK Baby .

The CP is ok, maybe i make an new one ?
cp1.jpg

The color of the buttons are washed out, i think i will buy new one.

First i clean all the old buttons
Buttons.jpg


Then i cut of the old bolts (this fits not with the jp sticks)
cp3.jpg
User avatar
tomiii
Posts: 31
Joined: January 18th, 2017, 7:35 am
Location: Austria

Re: Little Restauration for OK Baby Cab

Postby tomiii » April 21st, 2017, 11:22 am

Then i glue the new plates (got it from an German Forum)
joystick-plate_85x40mm_0.jpg


After a day i added the sticks, done :)
cp4.jpg


On the foto are the painted doors and CP holder.
User avatar
tomiii
Posts: 31
Joined: January 18th, 2017, 7:35 am
Location: Austria

Re: Little Restauration for OK Baby Cab

Postby tomiii » April 21st, 2017, 11:43 am

TV- Tube - Holder

The old Tube got some burn-ins and the old chassis is not so good, so i decided to take an Grundig TV with OSD.
This Killer TV got an fine Philips tube with good colours .
But there are 2 Points to take an tv:
Mine is an 28' and the old one is 29', so i make an adapter with new holes.
The TV chassis is much bigger then an arcade chassis, hope the chassis will fit on the Frame to.
Hope the bezel with fit the new one.

tube.jpg


Here the frame with the selfmade adapters
framewithtube.jpg


Tube in the frame
frame.jpg
User avatar
d123456
Posts: 334
Joined: September 24th, 2008, 2:54 pm
PSN: danielplatinom
Location: Almere, Netherlands

Re: Little Restauration for OK Baby Cab

Postby d123456 » April 21st, 2017, 2:36 pm

Can't wait to see it assembled. There are a few in the Netherlands.
It's an okay cabinet, nothing really wrong with it. I had one
bagheera369
Posts: 38
Joined: October 9th, 2013, 11:42 am
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: Little Restauration for OK Baby Cab

Postby bagheera369 » April 22nd, 2017, 9:04 am

Having to make adapters as well, but are moving ours down to Ms8-26su's, as the bezels that were in ours, will fit them perfectly. Picked up two locally in Texas for 250...which was awesome. They were beat and filthy, but will turn out fine.

Here's another one my buddy has. I designed the art, he did the cabinet paint job.

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-V23g ... .18.29.jpg

We were pretty proud of it.
User avatar
Shadolf
Posts: 193
Joined: November 6th, 2014, 12:20 pm
Location: South Germany

Re: Little Restauration for OK Baby Cab

Postby Shadolf » April 22nd, 2017, 11:09 pm

d123456 wrote:... There are a few in the Netherlands.
It's an okay cabinet, nothing really wrong with it. I had one


Do you mean the are some for sale right now? If yes, can you please share some links?!
User avatar
d123456
Posts: 334
Joined: September 24th, 2008, 2:54 pm
PSN: danielplatinom
Location: Almere, Netherlands

Re: Little Restauration for OK Baby Cab

Postby d123456 » Yesterday, 12:00 pm

Shadolf wrote:
d123456 wrote:... There are a few in the Netherlands.
It's an okay cabinet, nothing really wrong with it. I had one


Do you mean the are some for sale right now? If yes, can you please share some links?!

No, not right now, but they pop up from time to time.

Return to “Cabinet Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users