Page 1 of 1

Konami boards audio?

Posted: August 11th, 2017, 7:42 am
by zumbito
I was jsut trying a bunch of PCBs on my cabm and realized none of the Konami boards (TMNT, Sunset riders or Xmen) don´t get any sound. At first I thought about the sound chip which is know to fail, but I realized Sunset Riders doesn´t have the weird capacitor chip. Does anyone know what could it be? Do Konami boards have any special requirements in terms of sound?

Thanks.

Re: Konami boards audio?

Posted: August 11th, 2017, 7:57 am
by RMRM
They don't have any kind os special requirements.

My Sunset Riders also went mute and it was the YM-3012 that went bad, but of course, it can be a lot of other things.

Good luck

Re: Konami boards audio?

Posted: August 11th, 2017, 11:01 am
by zumbito
Did you solve it?

Re: Konami boards audio?

Posted: August 11th, 2017, 2:36 pm
by RMRM
Yes, just soldered a replacement YM-3012 and sounds great ever since.

Re: Konami boards audio?

Posted: August 12th, 2017, 6:29 am
by zumbito
Damn, it is going to be hard to find a replacement...

Re: Konami boards audio?

Posted: August 14th, 2017, 11:50 am
by zak
zumbito wrote:Damn, it is going to be hard to find a replacement...


Hmmm....

http://www.ebay.com/itm/YM3012-Yamaha-D ... 2065838784

:P

Re: Konami boards audio?

Posted: August 14th, 2017, 2:20 pm
by zumbito
:lol: :lol: I was thinking on the audio chip with capacitors on its top.

Re: Konami boards audio?

Posted: August 14th, 2017, 2:25 pm
by RMRM
This is simple DAC, basically converts the digital part of the Audio circuit to the Analogue part.

If you have a logic probe, you can see if you have an healthy signal pulsing in the inputs and you should hear a bip (if your probe has sound) on the output in rhythm with actual game music.

If you have nothing on the inputs and nothing on the outputs, the problem is definitely on a previous area of the digital circuit ;)

Re: Konami boards audio?

Posted: August 14th, 2017, 8:31 pm
by zumbito
RMRM wrote:This is simple DAC, basically converts the digital part of the Audio circuit to the Analogue part.

If you have a logic probe, you can see if you have an healthy signal pulsing in the inputs and you should hear a bip (if your probe has sound) on the output in rhythm with actual game music.

If you have nothing on the inputs and nothing on the outputs, the problem is definitely on a previous area of the digital circuit ;)


Nope, no logic probe. Been wanting to learn how to use one, but haven´t found one yet.