Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

PCB problems and fixes
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
Tardisdad11
Posts: 5
Joined: March 13th, 2017, 8:20 pm
Initials: Mds
Location: Indianapolis

Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

Postby Tardisdad11 » March 14th, 2017, 12:53 am

Hi I have a mortal kombat 1 cab where I had to install a volume pot to turn it up but am still only getting music during matches uppercuts background music etc but am missing sounds any ideas? Sorry very new to this.
User avatar
Asayuki
Posts: 395
Joined: August 29th, 2015, 10:16 pm
Location: Remuria, Germany

Re: Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

Postby Asayuki » March 14th, 2017, 11:08 am

From your few words it sounds like the game board has an issue in the audio section.
My 15kHz cabinet Peplos will never power up, with any item, and I am quite proud of that.
neocps1
Posts: 59
Joined: May 5th, 2012, 8:55 am
Location: France

Re: Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

Postby neocps1 » March 14th, 2017, 3:44 pm

go to test mode and in the test mode you will be able to test the sound board.
Basically, The sound board will make a number of sounds which correspond to
a status code (1 'dong' : ok, and so on).

This will help you find whats wrong
Tardisdad11
Posts: 5
Joined: March 13th, 2017, 8:20 pm
Initials: Mds
Location: Indianapolis

Re: Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

Postby Tardisdad11 » March 14th, 2017, 5:40 pm

Thanks I did that initially and it says everything is fine it's so weird i just don't get sounds like names and finish him and some punches and kicks and also no music on the demo/start screen
neocps1
Posts: 59
Joined: May 5th, 2012, 8:55 am
Location: France

Re: Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

Postby neocps1 » March 16th, 2017, 9:38 am

Do you get bad sounds on some occasions ? I mean sound which should be happen in a particular situation ?
User avatar
crunchywasp
stompin' an' jumpin'
Posts: 8916
Joined: February 10th, 2012, 2:51 pm
eBay: crunchywasp
Gamertag: crunchywasp
PSN: crunchywasp
Initials: MAK
Location: Fife, Scotland

Re: Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

Postby crunchywasp » March 16th, 2017, 12:22 pm

Turn cab off

Remove PCB from JAMMA harness

Put PCB in bin

:whoopsie:
Image
User avatar
leonardoliveira
Posts: 476
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 5:53 am
Initials: leo
Location: Brazil

Re: Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

Postby leonardoliveira » March 16th, 2017, 10:28 pm

Don't williams hardware require -5v be present for the sound to work properly?
Image
User avatar
crunchywasp
stompin' an' jumpin'
Posts: 8916
Joined: February 10th, 2012, 2:51 pm
eBay: crunchywasp
Gamertag: crunchywasp
PSN: crunchywasp
Initials: MAK
Location: Fife, Scotland

Re: Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

Postby crunchywasp » March 16th, 2017, 10:40 pm

Good point 8-)

I'm pretty sure MK needs -5v, but I thought there was no sound at all without it?
Image
User avatar
Asayuki
Posts: 395
Joined: August 29th, 2015, 10:16 pm
Location: Remuria, Germany

Re: Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

Postby Asayuki » March 16th, 2017, 10:53 pm

crunchywasp wrote:Good point 8-)

I'm pretty sure MK needs -5v, but I thought there was no sound at all without it?


Taito system L for example only uses -5V for the digital sound section, so yes there are boards where a missing -5V causes quite some headaches.
Yet from my understanding this issue happened all of a sudden and it was working before. Am I wrong?
My 15kHz cabinet Peplos will never power up, with any item, and I am quite proud of that.
User avatar
leonardoliveira
Posts: 476
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 5:53 am
Initials: leo
Location: Brazil

Re: Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

Postby leonardoliveira » March 18th, 2017, 6:01 am

crunchywasp wrote:Good point 8-)

I'm pretty sure MK needs -5v, but I thought there was no sound at all without it?


I believe it's used for the op amps on the analog part. Without it I believe you get pops and weird distortion instead of normal sound.
Image
User avatar
crunchywasp
stompin' an' jumpin'
Posts: 8916
Joined: February 10th, 2012, 2:51 pm
eBay: crunchywasp
Gamertag: crunchywasp
PSN: crunchywasp
Initials: MAK
Location: Fife, Scotland

Re: Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

Postby crunchywasp » March 18th, 2017, 8:53 am

Ahh, grand, thanks. I stand korrected.
Image
Tardisdad11
Posts: 5
Joined: March 13th, 2017, 8:20 pm
Initials: Mds
Location: Indianapolis

Re: Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

Postby Tardisdad11 » March 18th, 2017, 10:10 pm

Sorry guys I don't get notifications saying anyone has replied and no distorted sounds it's almost like I'm running a stereo on just one speaker I get only half sound like the balance is turned completely to one side....
User avatar
leonardoliveira
Posts: 476
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 5:53 am
Initials: leo
Location: Brazil

Re: Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

Postby leonardoliveira » March 19th, 2017, 11:50 pm

It's possible that you have one or two faulty op amps. The FM sound synth works but you get no voices? Could also be the eprom which stores the sound samples for the adpcm sampler circuit.
Image
Tardisdad11
Posts: 5
Joined: March 13th, 2017, 8:20 pm
Initials: Mds
Location: Indianapolis

Re: Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

Postby Tardisdad11 » March 21st, 2017, 12:37 am

my diagnostic still comes up clear on the sound board does that matter?
User avatar
leonardoliveira
Posts: 476
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 5:53 am
Initials: leo
Location: Brazil

Re: Mortal Kombat 1 with partial sound

Postby leonardoliveira » March 21st, 2017, 3:43 am

I think the newer William systems with the SHARC DSP (Wolf board with MK III for example) can but the early ones with the OKI ADPCM chip can't. Your game has a OKI M6295 ADPCM sampler for voices at the sound board. Two EPROMs connect to it and hold the wave data. The third rom holds the program for the MC6809 CPU at the sound board.
Image

Return to “Game Hardware Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]