Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

PCB problems and fixes
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
User avatar
Moonwalker
Posts: 152
Joined: October 7th, 2015, 10:03 pm
Aliases: Takuma
eBay: Glmorgenstern
Initials: TOA
Location: Cologne, Germany

Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby Moonwalker » March 10th, 2017, 1:08 pm

Hi,

I have a Moo Mesa PCB with the infamous Konami sound chip on it. Somebody tried to repair it by replacing the caps on the chip itself (quite sloppy job) but it did not work. I also replaced the Yamaha sound chip - no success.

The board starts with a test and tells "SOUND SYSTEM BAD", resseting and testing again in an infinite loop.

can anybody help?

Thanks in advance!
User avatar
zak
Posts: 426
Joined: October 19th, 2014, 1:35 pm
eBay: hasan_matar
Location: UK

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby zak » March 10th, 2017, 5:43 pm

HAve you tried IronGiant for repair? He's done a lot of these. They're not easy to repair
User avatar
thechop
Not as old as Ralph
Posts: 1696
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 1:17 pm
Location: Wubbly Wolverhampton.

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby thechop » March 10th, 2017, 6:29 pm

Yeah he's done a couple of xexex pcbs for me in the past, top job.
Trouble is if someone has already had a go at it it may not be repairable.
kernow wrote:
Cmon chop I wanna see your manly bricklayer arms.
User avatar
Ace`
Posts: 33
Joined: September 9th, 2008, 10:38 am
Location: England

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby Ace` » March 10th, 2017, 8:22 pm

I don't know if Moo Mesa is any thing like Bucky but I had the same issue with a Bucky 'o hare board, I reflowed the konami custom in the sound area to fix it.
User avatar
Moonwalker
Posts: 152
Joined: October 7th, 2015, 10:03 pm
Aliases: Takuma
eBay: Glmorgenstern
Initials: TOA
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby Moonwalker » March 13th, 2017, 11:14 am

zak wrote:HAve you tried IronGiant for repair? He's done a lot of these. They're not easy to repair


No, thanks! I will try to contact him. I can find him here, right?
EDIT: I can´t find him here... Can anybody tell me how to contact him please?

Ace` wrote:I don't know if Moo Mesa is any thing like Bucky but I had the same issue with a Bucky 'o hare board, I reflowed the konami custom in the sound area to fix it.


Most of the Konami boards are very similar and the sound chip is the same. Will try that, but it looks like it was done before when changing the caps.
User avatar
frsj8112
Posts: 43
Joined: April 11th, 2012, 6:06 pm
eBay: frsj8112
Location: Sweden

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby frsj8112 » March 13th, 2017, 12:55 pm

have you checked the RAM for the audio section?
User avatar
zak
Posts: 426
Joined: October 19th, 2014, 1:35 pm
eBay: hasan_matar
Location: UK

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby zak » March 13th, 2017, 2:17 pm

Moonwalker wrote:
zak wrote:HAve you tried IronGiant for repair? He's done a lot of these. They're not easy to repair


No, thanks! I will try to contact him. I can find him here, right?
EDIT: I can´t find him here... Can anybody tell me how to contact him please?

Ace` wrote:I don't know if Moo Mesa is any thing like Bucky but I had the same issue with a Bucky 'o hare board, I reflowed the konami custom in the sound area to fix it.


Most of the Konami boards are very similar and the sound chip is the same. Will try that, but it looks like it was done before when changing the caps.


Sorry, his name is VectorGlow on this forum. Here is his profile page:

memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=517
VectorGlow
Posts: 487
Joined: November 8th, 2008, 11:40 pm
Aliases: Arcaders
eBay: realflight
Location: Wales, UK

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby VectorGlow » March 13th, 2017, 2:54 pm

IronGiant here (known as Vectorglow on this forum) - thanks for the recommendations folks.

Re the Moo Mesa - those sound hybrid chips can also suffer from corrosion if the older electrolytic caps were leaking before being replaced - on the underside of the hybrid is another surface mounted chip or two. I don't recall if the error that you are seeing could be caused by one of those chips having a problem - however I do know that just the electrolytics failing won't cause the sound system error.

It's quite likely that another chip in the sound circuit has failed.

As for repairing the board, happy to take a look at it if you're not in a hurry - recent family problems have caused me to cease work for a while due to sorting out all kinds of things. However, I hope to get back to work in a few weeks. @Moonwalker - are you in a hurry for the repair?

Feel free to PM me here.
Arcade game board repairer
User avatar
Moonwalker
Posts: 152
Joined: October 7th, 2015, 10:03 pm
Aliases: Takuma
eBay: Glmorgenstern
Initials: TOA
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby Moonwalker » March 13th, 2017, 4:27 pm

Great - PM incoming!
User avatar
caius
Posts: 89
Joined: May 24th, 2013, 11:55 am
Aliases: caiusfabricius
eBay: namcosystem1
Initials: FAB
Location: Italy

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby caius » April 5th, 2017, 3:00 pm

VectorGlow wrote:IronGiant here (known as Vectorglow on this forum) - thanks for the recommendations folks.

Re the Moo Mesa - those sound hybrid chips can also suffer from corrosion if the older electrolytic caps were leaking before being replaced - on the underside of the hybrid is another surface mounted chip or two. I don't recall if the error that you are seeing could be caused by one of those chips having a problem - however I do know that just the electrolytics failing won't cause the sound system error.



How can electrolytic capacitors and DAC (parts of the analog circuit) cause an issue that is related to digital circuit??? :)
The "SOUND SYSTEM BAD" error is clearly related to digital circuit, I suspect some broken traces from '054321' ASIC on the module to its legs.Bucky o' Hare can show this error if the YM2151 is bad.
User avatar
frsj8112
Posts: 43
Joined: April 11th, 2012, 6:06 pm
eBay: frsj8112
Location: Sweden

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby frsj8112 » April 5th, 2017, 3:06 pm

If I would send off a PCB for repair, I would send it to caius.
Just look at his repairlogs on www.jammarcade.net, top work and good understanding of arcade hardware architecture.
User avatar
vasilas432
Posts: 152
Joined: November 11th, 2014, 4:42 pm
eBay: katzurak
Location: Hellas - Crete

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby vasilas432 » April 22nd, 2017, 7:58 am

+1 to caius
He has replaced those caps on Konami chip in 4 Konami boards of mine
User avatar
caius
Posts: 89
Joined: May 24th, 2013, 11:55 am
Aliases: caiusfabricius
eBay: namcosystem1
Initials: FAB
Location: Italy

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby caius » May 3rd, 2017, 10:47 pm

I received this PCB today and I was able to repair it.You can read log here:

http://www.jammarcade.net/wild-west-c-o-w-boys-of-moo-mesa-repair-log-3/

Thanks to Moonwalker for sending me the PCB and to VectorGlow for the report of his previous work
Asure
Posts: 515
Joined: April 17th, 2013, 5:16 pm
eBay: asure_nl
Location: Netherlands

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby Asure » May 4th, 2017, 12:56 am

I need to send you a box of pcb's some day, you're a wizard!
User avatar
caius
Posts: 89
Joined: May 24th, 2013, 11:55 am
Aliases: caiusfabricius
eBay: namcosystem1
Initials: FAB
Location: Italy

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby caius » May 4th, 2017, 1:04 am

Thanks but I'm not a wizard, often people overstimate me and my skills.I only work hard and never give up, thats the key.
User avatar
zak
Posts: 426
Joined: October 19th, 2014, 1:35 pm
eBay: hasan_matar
Location: UK

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby zak » May 4th, 2017, 4:20 pm

caius wrote:Thanks but I'm not a wizard, often people overstimate me and my skills.I only work hard and never give up, thats the key.


Says the wizards ;)
User avatar
Moonwalker
Posts: 152
Joined: October 7th, 2015, 10:03 pm
Aliases: Takuma
eBay: Glmorgenstern
Initials: TOA
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby Moonwalker » May 16th, 2017, 4:02 pm

Thanks VectorGlow and Caius for the great work!
I have a working Moo Mesa and Double Dragon 3 board again :)
User avatar
caius
Posts: 89
Joined: May 24th, 2013, 11:55 am
Aliases: caiusfabricius
eBay: namcosystem1
Initials: FAB
Location: Italy

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby caius » May 16th, 2017, 7:20 pm

Thanks to you and enjoy your (repaired) boards!
zumbito
Posts: 371
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
eBay: jaime5171
Location: Metro City

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby zumbito » May 27th, 2017, 2:51 am

caius wrote:I received this PCB today and I was able to repair it.You can read log here:

http://www.jammarcade.net/wild-west-c-o-w-boys-of-moo-mesa-repair-log-3/

Thanks to Moonwalker for sending me the PCB and to VectorGlow for the report of his previous work


Amazing, I have the same problem with a Bucky O'hare, no sound. Someone already recapped it, but the chip looks really corroded, not sure what to do with it.
User avatar
caius
Posts: 89
Joined: May 24th, 2013, 11:55 am
Aliases: caiusfabricius
eBay: namcosystem1
Initials: FAB
Location: Italy

Re: Moo-Mesa Konami Sound Chip problem

Postby caius » June 4th, 2017, 1:45 am

Try to replace the '054896A" module or chance the 4558 OP-AMP on its underneath.

Return to “Game Hardware Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users