Konami PC-based hardware question

PCB problems and fixes
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
aaronjmill
Posts: 6
Joined: June 28th, 2016, 4:23 pm
Location: Indianapolis, USA

Konami PC-based hardware question

Postby aaronjmill » March 9th, 2017, 5:38 pm

Hey there, I just picked up a Lethal Enforcers 3 PC from an operator, and I'm wondering if it's possible to convert this to Otomedius? I don't have any compatible setups with any other Konami PC-based games, and Otomedius seems like it would work in my Blast City just fine, I just don't know exactly what's needed to convert it, if anything. Thanks in advance.
User avatar
nem
Posts: 720
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 6:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Konami PC-based hardware question

Postby nem » March 9th, 2017, 5:47 pm

Probably not.

Konami has a ton of different PC based configurations.
aaronjmill
Posts: 6
Joined: June 28th, 2016, 4:23 pm
Location: Indianapolis, USA

Re: Konami PC-based hardware question

Postby aaronjmill » March 9th, 2017, 6:06 pm

I would love to find out if LE3 and Otomedius are even remotely similar from a hardware standpoint. I'd hate to just chuck this boardset since it's essentially useless to me otherwise.
User avatar
turntablism
Posts: 238
Joined: June 11th, 2010, 8:11 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Konami PC-based hardware question

Postby turntablism » March 10th, 2017, 7:35 am

here are some pics of the otomedius cab: http://yodel-arcade.blogspot.ch/2015/12 ... rcade.html

touchscreen monitor, I/O board with security plug, e-amusement card reader...
aaronjmill
Posts: 6
Joined: June 28th, 2016, 4:23 pm
Location: Indianapolis, USA

Re: Konami PC-based hardware question

Postby aaronjmill » March 10th, 2017, 8:06 pm

turntablism wrote:here are some pics of the otomedius cab: http://yodel-arcade.blogspot.ch/2015/12 ... rcade.html

touchscreen monitor, I/O board with security plug, e-amusement card reader...


interesting, thanks. it looks like there's a PCI-type card in there with a serial port on it. there's a similar port on this LE3 board. I wonder if I can find some kind of pinout for each one. there's two nine-pin serials on the PC i have. if they are what control the input devices (buttons, sticks), then maaaaybe it'd work? i've found an ISO of Oto and i'm going to try and install it on this PC and see what happens. i've got a spare HDD. we'll see. my guess is even if i get the ISO installed properly and the game boots, it's still going to be looking for some kind of security dongle or I/O board that I don't have.

we'll see what happens. thanks again for the responses :)
User avatar
turntablism
Posts: 238
Joined: June 11th, 2010, 8:11 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Konami PC-based hardware question

Postby turntablism » March 10th, 2017, 11:11 pm

Sorry, my english is not so good and i dont know much about hacking arcadesystems.
Yeah, i think the problem will be the dongle.

You can try to contact the guy here: http://www.gradiushomeworld.co.uk/index.php
Maybe he can help you.

If you need some more pics of the original system, let me know. Could you show some pics of your lethal enforcers pc ?

Someone hacked the arcade version of otomedius and it is possible to play it without touchscreen on the taito type x or taito typex2 system.

If you just want to play the game on your blast city, you can put an xbox360 in the cab or try the taito typex2 system.
User avatar
Shou
Posts: 481
Joined: August 25th, 2009, 4:45 am
Gamertag: ShouTime
PSN: ItsShouTime
Initials: SHO
Location: Central Tokyo, Japan, Asia, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
Contact:

Re: Konami PC-based hardware question

Postby Shou » March 13th, 2017, 7:45 am

aaronjmill wrote:Hey there, I just picked up a Lethal Enforcers 3 PC from an operator, and I'm wondering if it's possible to convert this to Otomedius? I don't have any compatible setups with any other Konami PC-based games, and Otomedius seems like it would work in my Blast City just fine, I just don't know exactly what's needed to convert it, if anything. Thanks in advance.


It won't convert. Otomedius requires a touch screen for one and has different IO boards. Security is also different.

I'd be interested in the LE3 setup.
aaronjmill
Posts: 6
Joined: June 28th, 2016, 4:23 pm
Location: Indianapolis, USA

Re: Konami PC-based hardware question

Postby aaronjmill » March 13th, 2017, 4:29 pm

turntablism wrote:Sorry, my english is not so good and i dont know much about hacking arcadesystems.
Yeah, i think the problem will be the dongle.

You can try to contact the guy here: http://www.gradiushomeworld.co.uk/index.php
Maybe he can help you.

If you need some more pics of the original system, let me know. Could you show some pics of your lethal enforcers pc ?

Someone hacked the arcade version of otomedius and it is possible to play it without touchscreen on the taito type x or taito typex2 system.

If you just want to play the game on your blast city, you can put an xbox360 in the cab or try the taito typex2 system.


Yeah, I'm thinking Type X2 is going to be what I need to get anyway. Just wanted to see if I could do anything with the existing hardware I had available. Thanks!

Shou wrote:
aaronjmill wrote:Hey there, I just picked up a Lethal Enforcers 3 PC from an operator, and I'm wondering if it's possible to convert this to Otomedius? I don't have any compatible setups with any other Konami PC-based games, and Otomedius seems like it would work in my Blast City just fine, I just don't know exactly what's needed to convert it, if anything. Thanks in advance.


It won't convert. Otomedius requires a touch screen for one and has different IO boards. Security is also different.

I'd be interested in the LE3 setup.


There we go, that's the answer I was looking for :)

This was just a boardset I picked up from an operator here in town, I'm happy to let it go. PM me if you're interested. Thanks!
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13495
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Discord: Rogalian#0207
Contact:

Re: Konami PC-based hardware question

Postby cools » March 13th, 2017, 6:07 pm

Any chance of some photos? I'm always curious to what cases PC hardware comes in.
Image

Return to “Game Hardware Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot]