Glitchy Gunbird 2

PCB problems and fixes
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
User avatar
Stompp
Posts: 892
Joined: July 10th, 2012, 10:58 am
eBay: uridium
Initials: DAD
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Glitchy Gunbird 2

Postby Stompp » February 26th, 2017, 6:14 pm

I have a Gunbird 2 PCB that's been working ok, but when I started it today the backgrounds looked strange in both attract mode and in stage 1-5. Stages 1-1 to 1-4 seems ok though.

Anyone got any idea what this might depend on? 5 V line is ok and I've tried pressing the IC's on the board but no success so far.

User avatar
Asayuki
Posts: 425
Joined: August 29th, 2015, 10:16 pm
Location: Remuria, Germany

Re: Glitchy Gunbird 2

Postby Asayuki » February 26th, 2017, 8:19 pm

From the look of it, it could be loose joints, but it could also be RAM, one EPROM or maybe some TTL.
EDIT: hard to say without making some measurement.
My 15kHz cabinet Peplos will never power up, with any item, and I am quite proud of that.
User avatar
Stompp
Posts: 892
Joined: July 10th, 2012, 10:58 am
eBay: uridium
Initials: DAD
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Glitchy Gunbird 2

Postby Stompp » February 26th, 2017, 8:57 pm

Asayuki wrote:From the look of it, it could be loose joints, but it could also be RAM, one EPROM or maybe some TTL.
EDIT: hard to say without making some measurement.

Thanks. I'm not in any way experienced when it comes to troubleshooting PCB's but I'm eager to learn :awe: Only tools I've got are a multimeter and a TOPS burner. I guess I should invest in a logic probe at least and then scour the Intertubes for some info on how to tackle this. It's gonna be a looong night :shifty:
zumbito
Posts: 371
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
eBay: jaime5171
Location: Metro City

Re: Glitchy Gunbird 2

Postby zumbito » June 20th, 2017, 3:52 pm

Hi, any updates with this Gunbird?
User avatar
Stompp
Posts: 892
Joined: July 10th, 2012, 10:58 am
eBay: uridium
Initials: DAD
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Glitchy Gunbird 2

Postby Stompp » June 21st, 2017, 7:10 am

Sadly no. I haven't had time to dig into this. I hope I'll have some more time during summer. Got a couple of boards needing to be looked at :roll:
zumbito
Posts: 371
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
eBay: jaime5171
Location: Metro City

Re: Glitchy Gunbird 2

Postby zumbito » June 22nd, 2017, 1:56 am

Yeas, same here. Mine doesnt display the enemies sprites. I bought it as a replacement, so I think I will just ship it back. Have no time to figure it out.
User avatar
Stompp
Posts: 892
Joined: July 10th, 2012, 10:58 am
eBay: uridium
Initials: DAD
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Glitchy Gunbird 2

Postby Stompp » June 22nd, 2017, 10:12 am

Ah, yes in that case I'd ship it back as well. Mine on the other hand did work at one point but gave up some while ago :(
Hrvat9
Posts: 37
Joined: April 26th, 2017, 3:47 pm
Aliases: Hrvat9
eBay: hrvaat
Location: Canada

Re: Glitchy Gunbird 2

Postby Hrvat9 » June 22nd, 2017, 5:46 pm

zumbito wrote:Yeas, same here. Mine doesnt display the enemies sprites. I bought it as a replacement, so I think I will just ship it back. Have no time to figure it out.


Sell it to me !
Seegggggaaaaaaaaa
zumbito
Posts: 371
Joined: February 18th, 2015, 12:03 am
eBay: jaime5171
Location: Metro City

Re: Glitchy Gunbird 2

Postby zumbito » June 23rd, 2017, 3:27 am

Hrvat9 wrote:
zumbito wrote:Yeas, same here. Mine doesnt display the enemies sprites. I bought it as a replacement, so I think I will just ship it back. Have no time to figure it out.


Sell it to me !


Hahaha, shipping to Canada would prohibitive I think.

Return to “Game Hardware Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chacal