KI sound problem - Help appreciated

PCB problems and fixes
PikkaKO
Please Continue...
eBay: summ412

KI sound problem - Help appreciated

Post by PikkaKO »

I have a Killer Instinct board that I bought a while ago from eBay and it's giving me "sram error!!! can't setup credit interupt". Does anyone here have any knowledge on this problem?

It would be nice to know if this is an easy fix and how to locate the problem? The board was pretty dirty when I bought it so could that cause errors? Also I have a CF hd and an any IDE boot rom.

Btw I'm pretty new with these so I might need a noob explanation :D
Last edited by PikkaKO on December 5th, 2012, 9:15 am, edited 4 times in total.
davewellington
The Librarian
Initials: DAV

Re: KI Sram Error - Help appreciated

Post by davewellington »

What repair equipment do you have?
all your wiki pages belong to me
PikkaKO
Please Continue...

Post by PikkaKO »

Well only a multimeter at the moment. But I can get other equipment if needed. I'm not an expert in desoldering just for the record. :P

Edit: By the way this guy has the exact same problem as I have: http://forums.arcade-museum.com/showthread.php?t=87689"
Someone suggested it might be the boot rom but I have the original that came with the board and my any IDE and it's giving me the same problem with both of those so I'm thinking it's not that. Then maybe one of the srams. But how to detect it?
davewellington
The Librarian
Initials: DAV

Post by davewellington »

You need a logic probe or oscilloscope at the very least. If you don't plan to become an expert in repairers, it's probably better to send it to someone to take a look at.
all your wiki pages belong to me
PikkaKO
Please Continue...

Post by PikkaKO »

Ok. I thought if I found the problem myself I would let someone else do the fixing job. So if it's only like 1 sram that's causing the error it would be easy just let someone else to desolder a new one.