-5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Everything Supergun related
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
iCEQB
Posts: 18
Joined: July 15th, 2016, 7:52 am
Location: Germany

-5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby iCEQB » July 21st, 2016, 10:43 am

Hi all,

I'm currently building a supergun for MVS and CPS2 boards and I'm having trouble finding information about the necessity of the -5V pins on these boards.
I read somehwere that only older Jamma boards needs this voltage, can anyone confirm this?

Regards,
ICEQB
User avatar
Sp33dFr34k
Posts: 183
Joined: December 3rd, 2011, 12:27 pm
eBay: 3d_collector
Location: The Netherlands

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby Sp33dFr34k » July 21st, 2016, 10:49 am

No, those don't need -5v.

Only PCB I have so far is Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3 which requires -5v for sound. There are not many PCB's/systems that require -5v to run.
iCEQB
Posts: 18
Joined: July 15th, 2016, 7:52 am
Location: Germany

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby iCEQB » July 21st, 2016, 11:36 am

Thank you Sp33dFr34k :)
Do you know how many Watts is enough to power a MVS and CPS2 ??

If you realy don't need -5V, I consider just to solder a Molex socket to my Supergun and power it with one of these external ATX PSUs.

Regards,
iCEQB
User avatar
Asayuki
Posts: 395
Joined: August 29th, 2015, 10:16 pm
Location: Remuria, Germany

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby Asayuki » July 21st, 2016, 11:58 am

Typical Arcade grade power supplies provide:

12V 4A = 48W
5V 15A = 75W
-5V 1A = 5W

With the above you will be able to power everything Jamma and pre-Jamma. Custom stuff might require additional voltages (like for example the Sega Model 3 system which requires 3.3V as well). Of course no Jamma or pre-Jamma board will ever require 128W, which is one more reason to consider the above values the "safe side".

I hope this helps.
My 15kHz cabinet Peplos will never power up, with any item, and I am quite proud of that.
User avatar
Sp33dFr34k
Posts: 183
Joined: December 3rd, 2011, 12:27 pm
eBay: 3d_collector
Location: The Netherlands

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby Sp33dFr34k » July 21st, 2016, 12:01 pm

Those things require next to nothing tbh, I was just thinking, if I would build one I think I'd use a pico PSU. I'd go for the 90w or 120w version, should be more than enough. It uses an external laptop style adapter.

Nice and small to build in some small housing, gives you the needed 5v and 12v and should the job perfectly fine.

You don't need the ATX connector though, so maybe there's some cheaper alternative which is equally small, don't know about any myself though.

Something like this:

Image

Maybe somebody else can chime in on this one?
iCEQB
Posts: 18
Joined: July 15th, 2016, 7:52 am
Location: Germany

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby iCEQB » July 21st, 2016, 12:12 pm

Hmm is this a PSU hooked to a PSU ? :D

There are external Molex PSUs in the size of the black unit in your pic.
User avatar
Sp33dFr34k
Posts: 183
Joined: December 3rd, 2011, 12:27 pm
eBay: 3d_collector
Location: The Netherlands

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby Sp33dFr34k » July 21st, 2016, 12:14 pm

I didn't know that, then I'd say, use one of these :)

Image
iCEQB
Posts: 18
Joined: July 15th, 2016, 7:52 am
Location: Germany

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby iCEQB » July 21st, 2016, 12:20 pm

Yeah this is what I meant, but I also just saw that there is a big problem ... these are usualy to drive a HDD or Optical Disc drive.
They don't have enough Watts to power a CPS2 / MVS if I'm not mistaken?

And whats with the Amps per rail ? Looking at Asayukis list, I don't think we'll get far with this :D
User avatar
Sp33dFr34k
Posts: 183
Joined: December 3rd, 2011, 12:27 pm
eBay: 3d_collector
Location: The Netherlands

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby Sp33dFr34k » July 21st, 2016, 12:27 pm

I didn't look at the specs before but yeah 2 amps on the 5v is a bit low. Not sure if there are more powerful ones around? If not, back to the pico psu :)
User avatar
RMRM
Posts: 416
Joined: April 20th, 2013, 4:45 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby RMRM » July 21st, 2016, 12:50 pm

Why are you trying to invent the wheel again?

Just use a "normal" arcade power supply, this way you will have zero problems with different PCB's (even if you need the -5V) and you will have the possibility to adust the +5V.
iCEQB
Posts: 18
Joined: July 15th, 2016, 7:52 am
Location: Germany

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby iCEQB » July 21st, 2016, 12:56 pm

I know but why not look for alternatives?
iCEQB
Posts: 18
Joined: July 15th, 2016, 7:52 am
Location: Germany

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby iCEQB » July 21st, 2016, 1:15 pm

Hmmm I've just seen that you need to know how to search for Arcade PSUs :D
The most obvious terms always end up in the most expensive items :D

Is this sufficent for CPS2 / MVS ? It doesn't say anything about Watts:

http://www.ebay.de/itm/New-Arcade-Switc ... SwAL9UiSWn
User avatar
RMRM
Posts: 416
Joined: April 20th, 2013, 4:45 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby RMRM » July 21st, 2016, 1:38 pm

That is enough and as i said before, you won't have any kind of troubles running different PCB's with that ;)
iCEQB
Posts: 18
Joined: July 15th, 2016, 7:52 am
Location: Germany

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby iCEQB » July 21st, 2016, 1:47 pm

What PSU manufacturer do you guys recommend ?
I hear SUZO HAPP is a favourite, but man they are expensive :wtf:
User avatar
Sp33dFr34k
Posts: 183
Joined: December 3rd, 2011, 12:27 pm
eBay: 3d_collector
Location: The Netherlands

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby Sp33dFr34k » July 21st, 2016, 1:49 pm

You can judge by the amps that this one is more than enough power-wise. Just for me I'd try to make a supergun as compact as it possibly can get so I'd go for a smaller solution.

Suzo Happ are good, also Wei-Ya's are not too bad if you know how to look for them (check with Devil Soundwave here on AO).
User avatar
emphatic
Breastfeeds when required
Posts: 6919
Joined: April 7th, 2009, 4:14 pm
Aliases: emphatic everywhere, baby!
eBay: jorgen_sjolander
Gamertag: emphatic001
Initials: JOR
Location: Alingsås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby emphatic » July 21st, 2016, 3:26 pm

I tried a PICO PSU with my supergun, it didn't end well for the PICO. This was with CPS1.
User avatar
RMRM
Posts: 416
Joined: April 20th, 2013, 4:45 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby RMRM » July 21st, 2016, 4:17 pm

Sp33dFr34k wrote:Suzo Happ are good, also Wei-Ya's are not too bad if you know how to look for them (check with Devil Soundwave here on AO).


X2

Mean Well aren't bad either.
iCEQB
Posts: 18
Joined: July 15th, 2016, 7:52 am
Location: Germany

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby iCEQB » July 21st, 2016, 4:29 pm

RMRM wrote:
Sp33dFr34k wrote:Suzo Happ are good, also Wei-Ya's are not too bad if you know how to look for them (check with Devil Soundwave here on AO).


X2

Mean Well aren't bad either.


Which Mean Well PSU could you recommend? Because they are more common where I come from.
User avatar
Sp33dFr34k
Posts: 183
Joined: December 3rd, 2011, 12:27 pm
eBay: 3d_collector
Location: The Netherlands

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby Sp33dFr34k » July 21st, 2016, 5:52 pm

emphatic wrote:I tried a PICO PSU with my supergun, it didn't end well for the PICO. This was with CPS1.


Could you elaborate out of curiousity please? :)
User avatar
RMRM
Posts: 416
Joined: April 20th, 2013, 4:45 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: -5V needed on MVS and CPS2 ?

Postby RMRM » July 21st, 2016, 5:52 pm

I have one that looks exactly the same as that "generic chinese" you linked before, but it's very old and i assume you can't find that exact model anymore. It's the one i use the most and always been reliable.

Also recommended Mean Well because we use similar power supply from them at my work and they seem to be reliable too.

Just check their site or a European electronics distributor like Farnell or Mouser for a model that offer +5 and +12, i've checked before and i think nowadays you won't find one with -5 +5 and +12...

Return to “SuperGun Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users