Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Everything Emulator related
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 147
Joined: January 14th, 2016, 6:04 pm
eBay: sainshov
Location: Greece

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby keropi » February 25th, 2017, 7:26 pm

cools wrote:[...]
disabled HPET
[...]


Why did you disable it? What am I missing?
Calamity released NEW CRTEmuDrivers that support the newer Rxxx cards as well... 8-)
also here are a couple of D9D9ex X64 binaries with the no-nag patch applied:

Full version (MAME+MESS) : http://www.mediafire.com/file/19cu4fgv5 ... 0183-k.rar
Arcade-only version (MAME only) : http://www.mediafire.com/file/gdqmv1jrb ... 0183-k.rar
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13402
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby cools » February 25th, 2017, 7:43 pm

I disabled it because I saw the option there, and remembered there was all sorts of talk on the GroovyMAME forum regarding the timers in the past. It doesn't seem to have done any harm so I'm not switching it back on now.

BTW do you have a nonag standard (not d3d9ex) version by any chance?
Image
spmbx
Posts: 763
Joined: December 26th, 2008, 11:18 am
Location: .NL

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby spmbx » February 25th, 2017, 8:35 pm

Awesome :) is there an up to date thread on latest crt emudriver and compatibility? I only find old info on arcadecontrols and eisendemmodus or whatever that site is called. (Im on mobile hell at the mo)

edit: found the proper location now that im on a proper pc
http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/v ... p?pid=1009
Last edited by spmbx on February 26th, 2017, 8:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13402
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby cools » February 25th, 2017, 8:50 pm

Just realised I have frame delay disabled too, and didn't notice it during testing at all.
Image
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13402
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby cools » February 26th, 2017, 8:17 pm

Using keropi's build with frame_delay 1, and CPU bumped up to 4Ghz. SH3 does framedrop in the most bonkers areas, but it's otherwise fine. <£150 of parts vs the ridiculous cost of the PCBs nowadays? I'll live with it.

Also you get to see how quick everything boots up and some exciting scrolling through the frontend :awe:
Image
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 147
Joined: January 14th, 2016, 6:04 pm
eBay: sainshov
Location: Greece

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby keropi » February 27th, 2017, 8:11 pm

cools wrote:I disabled it because I saw the option there, and remembered there was all sorts of talk on the GroovyMAME forum regarding the timers in the past. It doesn't seem to have done any harm so I'm not switching it back on now.

BTW do you have a nonag standard (not d3d9ex) version by any chance?


Didn't knew that HPET weirdness, gonna ask at GM forum and see if that is still the case , it would be great to know

Here are the non-D3D9ex builds

Full version (MAME+MESS) : http://www.mediafire.com/file/2ysiebrd1 ... 0183-k.rar
Arcade-only version (MAME only) : http://www.mediafire.com/file/ootrcwtxf ... 0183-k.rar
spmbx
Posts: 763
Joined: December 26th, 2008, 11:18 am
Location: .NL

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby spmbx » February 27th, 2017, 8:26 pm

Whats the practical difference between d3d9 and d3d9ex for groovymame?
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 147
Joined: January 14th, 2016, 6:04 pm
eBay: sainshov
Location: Greece

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby keropi » February 28th, 2017, 2:04 am

^ Less rendering lag. If you are in vista/win7 there is no reason not to use the D3D9ex version.
User avatar
zipper
Posts: 60
Joined: March 20th, 2015, 11:47 am
eBay: bazpatts
PSN: zipperwitz
Initials: BAZ
Location: Southend on Sea

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby zipper » February 28th, 2017, 5:46 pm

cools wrote:Using keropi's build with frame_delay 1, and CPU bumped up to 4Ghz. SH3 does framedrop in the most bonkers areas, but it's otherwise fine. <£150 of parts vs the ridiculous cost of the PCBs nowadays? I'll live with it.

Also you get to see how quick everything boots up and some exciting scrolling through the frontend :awe:


Simply awesome. I have an older CRT Emudriver set up (Mame 0.158 on a core2duo) and I love it. Pretty sure I followed your original thread couple of years back to get that up and running!.. but it's clear things have moved on without me and I need to upgrade. You have set the standard for me in that video. Couple of questions if you don't mind...
How are you fitting everything in the Pony? Or do you have it all cased next to the cab?
Are you using a SSD, extra fast RAM? :crazy: I've only ever used old, pre-built desktop computers before, but I'm well up for giving this a crack.
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13402
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby cools » February 28th, 2017, 6:35 pm

Thanks for the compliment. I'm really happy with everything, it came together better than I hoped.
My Pony has a few internal mods, you can see some here (very old pic).
Image

The floor and side are fully lined with MDF, the PSU was replaced with a UK model (and moved to the front) and there's an internal stepdown for the monitor you can't quite see. Doing this gives you ample space to fix things inside.

I was very kindly donated a Taito Type X 1 shell (the bottom half of the case) some years bac, this hosts the motherboard and SSD. This is attached to the side directly (the PCB holders were removed a while back), and my JammASD is bolted to the bottom of the cab behind the PSU.

The SSD was a cheap 64GB one I picked up a few years back and hadn't used. RAM was a 2GB ECC stick left over from my latest HP Microserver build. Motherboard/CPU is as mentioned in this thread. Motherboard is set to boot on power recovery (AC ON) and on any keypress. CPU is overclocked to 4GHz which you do by simply changing a single BIOS setting. Radeon 4350 is flashed with an ATOM-15 modified BIOS (allows the motherboard BIOS/Windows boot screen to display safely).

IIRC CPU £35 (found unused on this forum), motherboard £42, RAM "free" (does anyone have much use for a 2GB stick nowadays?), SSD £25, case "free" - but I did have to buy a (used) TFX PSU for it I managed to find for £10. JammASD £60, Radeon 4350 £10.

It won't be apparent from that video but this build I spent approximately 2 days waking hours on, tweaking and testing stuff. A good chunk of that was spent understanding why things were different from the last time I built one, bashing my head against a wall :lol: Had I gone in blind and followed the available instructions to the letter - dead easy.
Image
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13402
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby cools » February 28th, 2017, 7:36 pm

I'll throw together some pointers in the next day or so, there are a lot of little bits I do that are poorly/not documented. None are truly essential but combined they get rid of all the rough edges I can't stand.
Image
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13402
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby cools » March 1st, 2017, 2:52 pm

Made a start: http://wiki.arcadeotaku.com/w/User:Cools/MAME

Calamity confirms a HD5xxxx or higher card is preferable nowadays as it's way easier to set up, so don't grab a 4350 - get a 5450 isntead: http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/v ... php?id=301
Image
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 147
Joined: January 14th, 2016, 6:04 pm
eBay: sainshov
Location: Greece

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby keropi » March 1st, 2017, 3:40 pm

The recommendation is HD5xxx and above, win7/x64 and GM D3D9ex

Noone answered about the HPET stuff though :(
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13402
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby cools » March 1st, 2017, 4:01 pm

From what I can gather enabling/disabling it won't make the blindest bit of difference. There may have (historically) been motherboards where Windows used whatever timer it could get incorrectly.

I'll try enabling it on mine when I have a chance (next week probably) and see if I notice anything.
Image
User avatar
zipper
Posts: 60
Joined: March 20th, 2015, 11:47 am
eBay: bazpatts
PSN: zipperwitz
Initials: BAZ
Location: Southend on Sea

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby zipper » March 1st, 2017, 7:16 pm

Thanks for all the info here. Brilliant that CRT Emudriver is supporting all kinds of new cards and upto Win 10.

Looking at the instructions for pre and post HD 5xxx, it certainly looks like the later cards are easier.
"A nice thing about the HD 5xxx and newer cards is the support of a feature called EDID emulation. By means of this feature, Windows will detect non-PC monitors, such as arcade monitors and TV sets"......... That is the cool bit. No more messing about swapping leads and praying. When you mentioned the 2 days banging your head against a wall, it brought back bad memories of doing my initial set up :lol: . Although as you say, once done it's rock-solid.

I've just bought a HD6450 and will give it a go with win7/x64 and GM (arcade only) D3D9ex as per you and keropi.
Come payday I'm going to buy some bits for a G3258 system, mount it to a board, get it in a NAC, go TATE and will never look back :awe: :thumbup:
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13402
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby cools » March 1st, 2017, 8:41 pm

Hpet disabled/enabled makes bigger all difference. There's evidence to suggest useplatformclock causes a minor, barely noticeable dip in performance.

I'm going to stick with Hpet on as I can't be bothered going in the BIOS again, and useplatformclock false.
Image
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 147
Joined: January 14th, 2016, 6:04 pm
eBay: sainshov
Location: Greece

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby keropi » March 1st, 2017, 9:16 pm

Interesting thanks for the update cools!

Btw Calamity suggests the 6450+ cards:

By the way, prefer the 6450 to the 5450. Although it has a single analog output, it handles super resolutions better
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13402
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby cools » March 1st, 2017, 11:46 pm

Oh ffs, I've got a bunch of 5450 on the way.
Image
ReSe2k
Posts: 26
Joined: May 8th, 2012, 7:00 pm
eBay: diehard-86
PSN: ReSe2k
Initials: RSK
Location: Germany

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby ReSe2k » March 19th, 2017, 3:05 am

has someone a HLSL config for 31khz monitor i could use?
User avatar
Flinnster
Posts: 101
Joined: September 19th, 2016, 12:06 am
eBay: flinnster
Initials: KID
Location: Surrey

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby Flinnster » March 19th, 2017, 3:31 pm

I do use HLSL settings but only on monitors that are 1080p or 1200 high. I think I read somewhere that to properly replicate the dot mask overlay, offset CRT guns a bit and scanlines you basically need at least 3 pixels on an LED display for each single pixel of the game. So a 240 high game = 720p minimum.

Here's some of my settings on a 1080p display. Make sure in image enhancements you are using 'none' as a lot of the pixeldoubling modes mess with the HLSL values too.

HLSL1.jpg


hlsl2.jpg


hlsl3.jpg
Wanted: Sega Astro City / Blast City / Naomi / New Net City Cab. House Extension.
https://mameart.wordpress.com/

Return to “Emulation Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users