Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Everything Emulator related
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13454
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration

Postby cools » October 21st, 2014, 12:21 pm

Thamiel is right.

I rarely play the horizontal SH3 stuff on the decent rig either, as I notice the slowdown being wrong.
Image
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13454
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby cools » October 2nd, 2015, 5:01 pm

pubjoe wrote:I've got the bug at the moment.

I've spent quite a long time setting up a personal mala layout and many steps are not straight forward. Some of the things I've done are:

- Modified my own (E2 style) layout (**** retrogui).
- Made a little batch file to cycle through layout varients on each start up.
- Using virtualdub, batch edited videos and picture files to fit in nicely (sourced from emumovies).
- Reorganised the main list:
...... - Removed clones, except for certain good ones like SSF2T (I'd like advice on other keepers).
...... - Used 'mame content manager' to remove/restore mature games.
...... - Used multimame to build a mame.xml file that brings in other emulators (like zinc and makaron) where required.
...... - Added extra (unsupported by mame) games to the main list.

There are still plenty more things I want to do. One of the problems is that mame is always updating and some of the tools and ini files that would have been handy a couple of years ago are now out of date.

I won't list everything else I'd like to do just now. But if anyone is doing (or has done) this stuff and is interested in sharing knowledge, please let me know. A lot of this stuff has a steep learning curve.

My current FE (mala):


Shame the hosted image has gone...

http://forum.attractmode.org/index.php?topic=370.0
Image
User avatar
zipper
Posts: 62
Joined: March 20th, 2015, 11:47 am
eBay: bazpatts
PSN: zipperwitz
Initials: BAZ
Location: Southend on Sea

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby zipper » December 24th, 2015, 11:43 am

Mike Boss over at BYOAC made me a nice Astro themed Mala layout. If anyone wants something custom to finish off their cab, he's good, quick and cheap :D
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,108912.0.html
Image
User avatar
Brettster
Posts: 143
Joined: February 21st, 2015, 10:07 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby Brettster » December 24th, 2015, 5:47 pm

I like that :)
Looking for a nice Ridge Racer and Outrun Upright
User avatar
jhonny_d
Posts: 71
Joined: January 10th, 2009, 12:03 pm
eBay: rapace_mnb
Location: Italy

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby jhonny_d » September 22nd, 2016, 7:56 am

hope it's the right thread to ask, I need to buy a graphic card to use with crt_emudriver and would like to know if it's ok to use a dvi to vga adapter or if it's better to get a card that already has a vga port
User avatar
Asayuki
Posts: 409
Joined: August 29th, 2015, 10:16 pm
Location: Remuria, Germany

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby Asayuki » September 22nd, 2016, 8:15 am

If the DVI connector you are using is DVI-I instead of DVI-D, then there is absolutely no difference: the adapter is just a rewiring thing.
If, however, your output connector is DVI-D then you do have a problem there.
This image shows the physical difference between the two. About the technical reason why you need DVI-I there's ton of info on wikipedia.

Image

I hope this helps.
My 15kHz cabinet Peplos will never power up, with any item, and I am quite proud of that.
User avatar
jhonny_d
Posts: 71
Joined: January 10th, 2009, 12:03 pm
eBay: rapace_mnb
Location: Italy

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby jhonny_d » September 23rd, 2016, 8:46 am

thanks, I assumed that DVI was digital only, but know I know DVI-I carries also the analog singnal :)
User avatar
jhonny_d
Posts: 71
Joined: January 10th, 2009, 12:03 pm
eBay: rapace_mnb
Location: Italy

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby jhonny_d » September 23rd, 2016, 10:48 am

Bonus question: should I keep xp or upgrade to win7? I'm more interested about various emu performance rather than frontend features
User avatar
pubjoe
Fosters Political Ambitions
Posts: 10529
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 8:58 am

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby pubjoe » September 24th, 2016, 9:06 am

jhonny_d wrote:various emu performance

Win7 then.

You'll need to grab the dlls from http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.p ... c=149052.0
ReSe2k
Posts: 26
Joined: May 8th, 2012, 7:00 pm
eBay: diehard-86
PSN: ReSe2k
Initials: RSK
Location: Germany

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby ReSe2k » October 13th, 2016, 1:39 pm

I want to build a pc for a vertical cab (Naomi 31khz only), but i don't really know much about it so i want to ask what would be a good set-up?

stuff i want to play on it would be mame obviously and shooting games on steam (crimzon clover, raiden iv). the only cave sh-3 game that needs to run is ibara

i already have a Radeon HD 6850, so what else do i need? the cheaper the better :awe:
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13454
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby cools » October 13th, 2016, 3:00 pm

The MAME SH3 stuff needs beefy CPU. It might work slightly better with DEMUL but I've struggled to get on with that emulator.
Image
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13454
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby cools » January 9th, 2017, 10:05 am

If anyone is looking for a motherboard for a MAME build at the moment, the ASROCK H81M-DG4 has a couple of nice things pointed out on the BYOAC forum. 1) With BIOS v1.0 it supports the Pentium G3528, 2) it has a UEFI BIOS that works in 640x480 with an ATOM-15 flashed card.
Image
User avatar
Shadolf
Posts: 210
Joined: November 6th, 2014, 12:20 pm
Location: South Germany

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby Shadolf » January 9th, 2017, 1:15 pm

cools wrote:If anyone is looking for a motherboard for a MAME build at the moment, the ASROCK H81M-DG4 has a couple of nice things pointed out on the BYOAC forum. 1) With BIOS v1.0 it supports the Pentium G3528, 2) it has a UEFI BIOS that works in 640x480 with an ATOM-15 flashed card.

What about overclocking the G3528 with this motherboard? Can´t find the thread on BYOAC.
Last edited by Shadolf on January 9th, 2017, 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13454
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby cools » January 9th, 2017, 1:20 pm

I missed out half a sentence. What I meant to say was with BIOS 1.0 it supports overclocking with that processor.
Image
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 149
Joined: January 14th, 2016, 6:04 pm
eBay: sainshov
Location: Greece

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby keropi » January 9th, 2017, 2:46 pm

I posted that info on BOYAC, I decided to flash my 6670 with atom-15 over the weekend and I was pleased to find that UEFI displayed on my 15khz POLO monitor, when the mouse reaches the edge of the screen it moves to the new area:

Image

I assume it's 1024x768 in segments - someone over at Asrock thought to add support low-res screens apparently

As long as you stay on BIOS v1.0 (where the option "Non-Z Overclocking" exists) the G3258 can be overclocked.
If you update to the later BIOSes that add win10 support - you lose the non-Z O/C option completely. So this board is for win7 if you want to O/C (not the board's problem btw, win10 needed microcode update for G3258 for some reason so intel also decided to disable o/c for boards that don't have a Z series chipset...)

I have tried overcloking to 4ghz - it worked and it was stable. If anyone wants me to test another frequency tell me and I will report back - I am running at stock speed atm but I installed a ZALMAN CNPS8X cooler so theoretically temperatures won't be a problem.
User avatar
Shadolf
Posts: 210
Joined: November 6th, 2014, 12:20 pm
Location: South Germany

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby Shadolf » January 9th, 2017, 5:13 pm

Could you please test OC to 4,2Ghz?!
I have OCed mine to 4,2 with stock cooler, but lowered Voltage.
Is voltage adjustment also possible with this board?

Another Question:
Is there something like a SATA-switch? I would like to use different SSD´s with different setups. Switch between 15khz and 31khz or hori/vert setup.
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13454
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby cools » January 9th, 2017, 7:22 pm

I use a removable HDD bay for that.
Image
User avatar
pubjoe
Fosters Political Ambitions
Posts: 10529
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 8:58 am

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby pubjoe » January 9th, 2017, 11:06 pm

I wonder if their mini itx version is the same.
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 149
Joined: January 14th, 2016, 6:04 pm
eBay: sainshov
Location: Greece

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby keropi » January 10th, 2017, 12:36 am

@Shadolf

I did the 4.2ghz o/c - actually there is a menu that takes care of the settings so I just used that:

Image

I run OCCT for ~2hrs and 13mins :

Image

Image


and here is the VCORE OCCT measured:

Image


I am not an o/c fan tbh so my knowledge there is limited.

A sidenote about the Zalman CNPS8X cooler: although I find it good in keeping low temps the fan is not that great. It is noisy and not because of the airflow. You don't notice it when sound is playing but I would expect it to be completely silent... I don't have a back cover for my wooden cab yet - maybe the sound echoes and gets amplified or something...
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13454
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mame in cab thread. Frontends, gamelists, configuration etc.

Postby cools » February 25th, 2017, 6:31 pm

Finally got around to setting up my G3258 + H81M-DG4. BIOS 1.0 flashed, stock cooler, pressed the "overclock to 3.8Ghz button", disabled HPET. Windows 7 Home Premium installed, BlackViper "safe" services disabled. All "Windows Features" disabled. Power saving set to "High Performance".

CRT Emudriver 2.0 latest beta for HD4350 installed, super resolutions. GroovyMAME 0.183. Portaudio enabled with WASAPI

Blitter delay 63%. CV1000 is perfect, slowdown included. :awe:

About the only thing I can find that's not exactly right is G-NET - no music. Other than that there's very little left in the way of vertical games I care about wrong in MAME!
Image

Return to “Emulation Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users