MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Everything Emulator related
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13452
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby cools » May 3rd, 2013, 9:44 am

Here's a screenshot with the latest settings: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BxaCVgx ... sp=sharing
Image
User avatar
ninn
TheRedKnight's Lover
Posts: 1118
Joined: September 5th, 2011, 1:24 pm
eBay: 8bitbitch
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby ninn » May 3rd, 2013, 7:00 pm

Needs better edge convergence problems emulation. :problem:
Randy and Candy.
currently lazy. must not buy games!
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13452
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby cools » May 3rd, 2013, 7:51 pm

Yeah. That's one thing you can't simulate neatly yet, it's either too extreme or hardly visible. Those settings have a compromise for those errors in them
Image
User avatar
ninn
TheRedKnight's Lover
Posts: 1118
Joined: September 5th, 2011, 1:24 pm
eBay: 8bitbitch
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby ninn » May 3rd, 2013, 9:06 pm

Just thought about it:

At first I thought it would be easy, by calculating different convergences for each color, but I guess the big problem is, that the scanline convergence would shift [for each color] too.

Guess nobody would use it anyway. :shifty:
Randy and Candy.
currently lazy. must not buy games!
User avatar
baddy
Posts: 439
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 12:40 am
eBay: irishfrog89
Initials: CHI
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby baddy » May 4th, 2013, 9:41 am

I started trying this out on my Dell 2713HM (1440p screen), had good results after little tinkering with the settings :) I'm looking forward to a portable console like the GCW with a 5" full hd screen, allowing scanline emulation like this.
User avatar
ninn
TheRedKnight's Lover
Posts: 1118
Joined: September 5th, 2011, 1:24 pm
eBay: 8bitbitch
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby ninn » May 30th, 2013, 5:56 pm

can't turn hlsl turn on anymore. :(

It worked on the old laptop, but on the new one it just refuses to work. :oops:
Randy and Candy.
currently lazy. must not buy games!
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13452
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby cools » May 30th, 2013, 6:06 pm

Installed DirectX?
Image
User avatar
ninn
TheRedKnight's Lover
Posts: 1118
Joined: September 5th, 2011, 1:24 pm
eBay: 8bitbitch
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby ninn » May 30th, 2013, 6:10 pm

... installing ...

ain't that standard stuff with windows anymore? :eh:
Randy and Candy.
currently lazy. must not buy games!
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13452
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby cools » May 30th, 2013, 6:20 pm

It's never been standard. Bits of it have come with different versions of Windows, but the bits you need for HLSL haven't.
Image
User avatar
ninn
TheRedKnight's Lover
Posts: 1118
Joined: September 5th, 2011, 1:24 pm
eBay: 8bitbitch
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby ninn » May 30th, 2013, 7:25 pm

okok, dont think i got hlsl running...
looks exactly the same enabled or not, using ddraw


I generated a mame config with mame64 -cc and edited that to my likings.


#
# CORE SCREEN OPTIONS
#
brightness 0.85
contrast 1.15
gamma 0.95
pause_brightness 0.65
effect effect_cools


i didnt expect it to take that long to get it looking better.
Randy and Candy.
currently lazy. must not buy games!
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13452
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby cools » May 30th, 2013, 7:33 pm

Those aren't HLSL settings.

Delete the ini, create a blank one, then chuck the settings I have in the wiki in over the top of the existing matching ones:
http://wiki.arcadeotaku.com/w/User:Cools
Image
Asure
Posts: 516
Joined: April 17th, 2013, 5:16 pm
eBay: asure_nl
Location: Netherlands

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby Asure » May 30th, 2013, 9:41 pm

Just tried this out with TMNT and it looks amazing! Thanks for the settings cools!
User avatar
ninn
TheRedKnight's Lover
Posts: 1118
Joined: September 5th, 2011, 1:24 pm
eBay: 8bitbitch
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby ninn » May 30th, 2013, 11:44 pm

when i put your mame.ini-settings over my freshly created one, it just looks like there is no ini at all: no scanlines, just blurry and no curvature. :oops:

yes, looks like exactly the same without mame.ini



:cry:
Randy and Candy.
currently lazy. must not buy games!
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13452
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby cools » May 31st, 2013, 9:03 am

Then you're doing something wrong or it may be that HLSL is still not working, I never figured out how to tell if it was or not other than the display looking good.

Try a blank INI with just those settings in.
Image
User avatar
baddy
Posts: 439
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 12:40 am
eBay: irishfrog89
Initials: CHI
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby baddy » May 31st, 2013, 10:04 am

I'm pretty sure it doesn't work in ddraw mode and requires direct3d, hence the need to have directX installed.
goofers
Posts: 1
Joined: March 6th, 2014, 1:52 pm
Aliases: Steven
PSN: SHOOT_ME96
Initials: JDI

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby goofers » March 6th, 2014, 1:57 pm

Nice work...
User avatar
mufunyo
Posts: 730
Joined: August 21st, 2008, 12:26 am
Aliases: mf, muf
eBay: mufunyo
Gamertag: mufunyo
PSN: mindflyer
Initials: MUF
Location: Eindhoven, NL
Contact:

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby mufunyo » March 8th, 2014, 12:05 am

goofers wrote:Nice work...

Image
Image
tenchu42

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby tenchu42 » March 15th, 2014, 4:36 am

tks
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13452
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby cools » April 29th, 2014, 10:34 am

Okay the number of people using a scanline generator for a MAME setup is winding me up. When I get a chance I'll revisit this and come up with an easy method that works without individual game tweaking required - I'm going to want to find this out for myself anyway - fortunately due to GroovyMAME it should be a doddle to do so.
Image
User avatar
joeblade
You're looking good Tim
Posts: 864
Joined: September 13th, 2008, 6:18 pm
Gamertag: joeblade
Location: London

Re: MAME scanline/shadowmask simulation

Postby joeblade » April 30th, 2014, 9:07 am

Im really happy with the one im using for 640x480 on my 31k pc monitor, heavy scanlines FTW!! :lol:

will look foward to seeing your results cools, im sure it will look... :awe:
For gods sake, its a carton box - not the holy grail!

Return to “Emulation Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users