JVS-PAC feature requests

Everything Emulator related
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
User avatar
invzim
Posts: 465
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:26 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby invzim » January 14th, 2015, 11:37 pm

Going to update the firmware a little as a new batch is about to get ready. I also plan to update the website it's properly synced to software and hardware.

What I have in mind is:
  • ESC by holding 1p down for nn seconds, in addition to the normal 1pstart+2pstart. Great idea requested by Cools
  • layout that doesn't use SHIFT, CTRL or ALT - this has actually been implemented for quite some time. For use by applications that doesn't like those keys
  • Possibly a limited shift-key jumper, in addition to the current one that disables them altogether. Could e.g. only enable coin and exit, and not the other stuff.

Thoughts?
In The Name of Science!
User avatar
baddy
Posts: 439
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 12:40 am
eBay: irishfrog89
Initials: CHI
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby baddy » January 15th, 2015, 8:22 am

Hey!

The one issue I had with the JVS-Pac that have annoyed me is the fact that if the PC USB ports are powered when the PC is off when the JVS IO is powered on again the JVS-Pac has to be rebooted otherwise it is stuck.

Is there any way for a soft reset of the JVS-pac to be implemented when that happens?

I am aware that there are ways to have the USB ports un-powered when the PC is off but believe me it's so annoying to find the right option in various bioses :mad:
User avatar
invzim
Posts: 465
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:26 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby invzim » January 16th, 2015, 5:43 am

It is an annoying thing, but not really common. The technical reson is that because of the way the USB library is put together, I can't initialize the IO board while USB is running. I can possibly make something that resets the whole JVS-PAC (and thus disconnects USB), if the IO board has been missing for more than nn seconds.
In The Name of Science!
Dexa
Posts: 129
Joined: March 21st, 2011, 8:45 pm
Location: Germany

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby Dexa » January 21st, 2015, 9:28 pm

i´ve got a possible feature request (possible because i dont know if its already implemented :awe: ):
- "coin drop in" should be recognized as input to use it on emulators.
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13460
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby cools » January 22nd, 2015, 9:50 am

That's already implemented. http://jvspac.kirurg.org/?page=operation
Image
User avatar
KmanSweden
KmanSweden
Posts: 1592
Joined: October 13th, 2010, 10:37 am
Aliases: P373R, Kman-Sweden, Kman_Sweden
eBay: KmanSweden
Gamertag: KmanSweden
Initials: PKK
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby KmanSweden » January 22nd, 2015, 10:02 am

I was actually looking at this yesterday. :awe:
I guess the "buy now" button will appear again when you have them in stock?
Up the Irons!
User avatar
FrancoB
J+ member of the year finalist!
Posts: 5255
Joined: June 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm
Gamertag: franimal 1
Initials: FRN
Location: East Midlands, UK

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby FrancoB » January 22nd, 2015, 10:28 am

I've got a big ol' box of them sat on my desk. As soon as the firmware is sorted I'll flash them all and invzim will open up the order page again. :thumbupright:
User avatar
KmanSweden
KmanSweden
Posts: 1592
Joined: October 13th, 2010, 10:37 am
Aliases: P373R, Kman-Sweden, Kman_Sweden
eBay: KmanSweden
Gamertag: KmanSweden
Initials: PKK
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby KmanSweden » January 22nd, 2015, 11:09 am

:thumbup:
Up the Irons!
User avatar
CPS2
Street Fighter
Posts: 2276
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 10:03 pm
Gamertag: HyperSF2
PSN: SuperSF2
Location: Leeds

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby CPS2 » January 22nd, 2015, 2:33 pm

PS4 compatability? :awe:
User avatar
Inky
Posts: 34
Joined: March 16th, 2013, 10:37 am
eBay: Technical_medic
Initials: SCH
Location: UK

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby Inky » January 27th, 2015, 12:46 pm

I know this is a long shot but I thought I'd post to see.

The PS3 "PS home" button! I know this has been a problem and I did some research and hoped you might take a look to see if you can get it working.

Belows some talk about getting it working on some devices with some magic 8 bits that need sending but some people ran into problems with slow devices but it does lead to some places where they seemed to get it working in the comments see the URL following this one.

http://www.slashdev.ca/2010/05/25/ps3-gamepad-with-home-button/

http://www.wipeoutzone.com/forum/showthread.php?6151-PS3-NeGcon-Can-it-be-done&s=efd32c76c7e8d2314b33476710f8d3a6&p=192480#post192480

I really have no idea of the real deep knowledge needed for this IvIePhisto on the DualStrike seems to be the guy who seemed to get around these - I was hoping to try and be helpful is all!

http://forums.obdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=5385


Re: atmega8+V-USB to emulate PS3 joypad

Postby CRP » Wed Feb 09, 2011 7:46 pm
In the meantime I have looked a bit at the work done by Mephisto & co (Project Dualstrike). Basically with the patch that they have applied to the usb driver (what this patch actually does is beyond me), they apparently are able to send a 16 byte long hid descriptor in one go. I have tried taking their code and sending longer descriptors, but it won't work. So right now I have adapted the hid descriptor to my needs in order to have all the controls I need, and I barely made it ;)

Basically, according to my limited understanding of the whole issue, in order to get the PS3 to recognize a controller as if it was an official one (which means working PS button and working analog buttons) the following must be satisfied:
1) the hid descriptor must include 13 buttons, one hat switch, 2 analog sticks (2 axes each), 12 analog buttons (these are via the weird custom items at the end of the hid report descriptor)
2) the report must be sent in a single try (ie it is impossible with stock v-usb, which allows max 8 bytes per interrupt; the trick of stacking them will not work, in the sense that by doing so the controller is recognized by the PS3, but the PS button and analog buttons will not work); here mephisto's patch comes into play, since it allows to send up to 16 bytes on interrupt endpoint 3 (can this be extended to more than 16 bytes? I have been unable to do so)
3) the usual magic bytes (0x21, 0x26,...) must be sent via the setup function

In my case, I was able to make a NegCon adapter with the following hid content:
1 byte for left stick axis (wheel)
3 x 2 bits for the remaining three axes (which are unused but must be present)
1 x 4 bits for the hat switch
13 x 1 bits for the digital buttons (button 13 is PS)
1 padding bit ;)
12 x 8 bytes for the analog buttons (the last two are L2 and R2 trigger buttons, mapped to NegCon L and I-II)


Anyway enough of a rant from me...
User avatar
HAN
Posts: 18
Joined: November 2nd, 2014, 6:14 pm
Aliases: GGA HAN
eBay: sega-boy123
Gamertag: HAN
PSN: NEO-HAN
Initials: HAN
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Contact:

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby HAN » February 27th, 2015, 12:26 am

FrancoB wrote:I've got a big ol' box of them sat on my desk. As soon as the firmware is sorted I'll flash them all and invzim will open up the order page again. :thumbupright:

cool, can't wait to order one! getting anxious about getting my first candy (Blast) next month!
Check out my YouTube channel for arcade and console 1cc's and random arcade happenings: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC6Tftw ... 6BsgvFBWoQ
fagin
Posts: 812
Joined: February 9th, 2009, 7:04 pm
Location: UK

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby fagin » March 3rd, 2015, 4:06 pm

CPS2 wrote:PS4 compatability? :awe:


Following on from this, is there anyway you can alter the firmware, so windows sees this as a PS3 controller?

I have a cronusmax, and if this was detected as a PS3 controller (or any game controller), I think I'll be able to detect and use my PS4 in my cab then. At the moment windows does not see this as a controller.
User avatar
baddy
Posts: 439
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 12:40 am
eBay: irishfrog89
Initials: CHI
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby baddy » March 3rd, 2015, 4:10 pm

Windows by default does not detect DS3 controllers, you have to install drivers and then they will appear. If the drivers work (ds3 tool) then I assume your cronus max will work too.
fagin
Posts: 812
Joined: February 9th, 2009, 7:04 pm
Location: UK

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby fagin » March 7th, 2015, 7:53 pm

baddy wrote:Windows by default does not detect DS3 controllers, you have to install drivers and then they will appear. If the drivers work (ds3 tool) then I assume your cronus max will work too.


That didn't work unfortunately. However, with a bit more playing I've finally managed to get the JVS-PAC recognised with the CronusMAX and detected and working with the PS4. :awe: Now able to play the PS4 on the Lindbergh cab. :D
User avatar
skate323k137
Posts: 86
Joined: October 4th, 2013, 7:37 am
Aliases: quizknows
eBay: bodankis
Gamertag: spinvinyl

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby skate323k137 » June 29th, 2015, 7:09 pm

invzim wrote:
  • layout that doesn't use SHIFT, CTRL or ALT - this has actually been implemented for quite some time. For use by applications that doesn't like those keys


I could really use this. Lots of programs open the windows menu when alt+space is pressed. Other than that, really impressed with the jvs-pac. If there is a firmware for this or a way to set it up that I am missing, please let me know.
DrChaos
Posts: 6
Joined: July 2nd, 2015, 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby DrChaos » July 2nd, 2015, 10:49 am

Is it possible to use the JVS-Pac as a Joystick Device? I know that for MAME etc. Keys are pretty much standard, but I was thinking of hooking an MiST to my new Naomi in case I get bored of my Naomi games ;)
User avatar
baddy
Posts: 439
Joined: January 28th, 2010, 12:40 am
eBay: irishfrog89
Initials: CHI
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby baddy » July 2nd, 2015, 11:58 am

You can flash the ps3 firmware on it.
DrChaos
Posts: 6
Joined: July 2nd, 2015, 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby DrChaos » July 2nd, 2015, 12:52 pm

Thanks. I missed that because I am not interested in PS3...
User avatar
Dache
Posts: 99
Joined: June 2nd, 2013, 2:36 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby Dache » August 18th, 2015, 2:09 pm

Is there a download link for the latest firmware anywhere?

The downloads page on the main site (http://jvspac.kirurg.org/?page=downloads) lists 0.8 beta from Oct 2012 - is there anything newer than this? The topic suggests so...
User avatar
invzim
Posts: 465
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 5:26 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: JVS-PAC feature requests

Postby invzim » August 18th, 2015, 9:03 pm

yes and no, the one originally planned for the latest batch was pulled because it had issues - new version is basically ready, but haven't put it out for download yet.
In The Name of Science!

Return to “Emulation Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users