GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Everything Emulator related
Forum rules
ArcadeOtaku forum introduction & rules
User avatar
pubjoe
Fosters Political Ambitions
Posts: 10529
Joined: August 19th, 2008, 8:58 am

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby pubjoe » November 20th, 2016, 8:05 pm

As far as I understand it...

Frame Delay's function of delaying render of the next frame, reducing input lag by a minuscule amount, works with D3D9ex and BGFX just as it did with D3D.

However D3D had a bug which caused around 3 frames of lag. Frame Delay just happened to fix this by side effect.

D3D9ex and BGFX don't have this bug so Frame Delay isn't "needed" anymore in the same way it was with D3D. It now just does it's originally intended job of reducing input lag to less than one frame.

I had very occasional but very irritating stutters with framedelay 1 so I'm glad to be able to turn it off now tbh.
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13454
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby cools » November 21st, 2016, 2:59 pm

There are quite a number of other changes that are required with latest GM and CRT_Emudriver, but until the latter comes out of beta I don't want to change my guide. Instructions are available officially for getting it all working, and it's far simpler than in the past anyway.
Image
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 149
Joined: January 14th, 2016, 6:04 pm
eBay: sainshov
Location: Greece

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby keropi » November 21st, 2016, 3:41 pm

What other changes? Any chance for a quick list in case I miss something? :D
Finding *good* and up-to-date info on GM/setup is a challenge on it's own for someone joining just this year... there are things old users have discussed in the past burried under different threads and when someone new asks the same things then quite simply the old users are bored to answer... I don't blame them - it's just harder for new users to setup things better.
User avatar
Shadolf
Posts: 210
Joined: November 6th, 2014, 12:20 pm
Location: South Germany

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby Shadolf » November 21st, 2016, 8:51 pm

I'm with keropi. For a newbee it can be hard. There are a lot of questions that were answered in the past but need a lot of time to find the answers. Would be very kind of you cools, to include such questions and answers that are important/from general interest into the guide.

@cools: Thank you for writing the guide and investing your time to help us
User avatar
FcoBenitez
Posts: 233
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 3:31 am
Aliases: Kabal2X
PSN: KabalistaUSA
Initials: KBL
Location: Chile

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby FcoBenitez » November 22nd, 2016, 3:43 pm

Thanks Keropi!
I think my english is not most bad ever
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 149
Joined: January 14th, 2016, 6:04 pm
eBay: sainshov
Location: Greece

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby keropi » November 22nd, 2016, 10:24 pm

Calamity just posted this:

The user oomek has measured a consistent latency increase when comparing the old 0.171 build with current versions of GM, even when using Direct3D 9Ex and frame delay. Fortunately we have probably found the source of problem on a change in the code base made a few months ago.

There's a new test build on the drive that performs as good as 0.171 latency-wise, according to oomek's measurements: groovymame64_0179.016_alpha3_d3d9ex_test




so it appears a new version will be out soon-ish, when it does I'll upload the compiled source code with the extra patces again
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 149
Joined: January 14th, 2016, 6:04 pm
eBay: sainshov
Location: Greece

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby keropi » December 3rd, 2016, 8:56 pm

Great news, GM 0.180 just got released:

GroovyMAME v0.180 is out (Switchres v0.016 alpha 4):

What's new in SwitchRes v0.016 alpha 4 (December 2016)

- Full implementation of dynamic mode switching on the BGFX renderer (D3D11 backend). Now it shouldn't crash when launching games from the internal UI. Games that switch video modes dynamically now work.

- Improved dynamic mode switching for -video bgfx (D3D11) and -video d3d (D3D9/D3D9Ex*). Now transitions should be smoother, and the desktop shouldn't flash on the background anymore. There should be a comparative advantage here for D3D9ex (and D3D11) over plain D3D9 since the former doesn't need to destroy and recreate resources upon a mode switch.

- Attempt at reducing input latency, now it should be on a par with previous versions of GM (0.171). Experimental confirmation needed.

* Re-added D3D9Ex support, now as a separate build. Remind using -video d3d even for the D3D9ex build, instead of the old deprecated setting -video d3d9ex.



I have compiled several flavors with MKChamp's 0.180 suppression patch:

GroovyMame64:

GroovyMame64_0180.016_alpha4_suppression0180 : https://www.mediafire.com/?9egdiv8vklid772
GroovyMame64_arcade-only_0180.016_alpha4_suppression0180 : http://www.mediafire.com/?dgzfbse8m762onm

GroovyMame64_0180.016_alpha4_d3d9ex_suppression0180 : https://www.mediafire.com/?o6mxwzze6abnm1m
GroovyMame64_arcade-only_0180.016_alpha4_d3d9ex_suppression0180 : https://www.mediafire.com/?w509scud0i24wwk


GroovyMame32:

GroovyMame32_0180.016_alpha4_suppression0180 : https://www.mediafire.com/?112gyp4qtcqgb6q
GroovyMame32_arcade-only_0180.016_alpha4_suppression0180 : https://www.mediafire.com/?qmx78m3gteo91a1

GroovyMame32_0180.016_alpha4_d3d9ex_suppression0180 : https://www.mediafire.com/?dhpccryuzm6989x
GroovyMame32_arcade-only_0180.016_alpha4_d3d9ex_suppression0180 : https://www.mediafire.com/?urpehq7mnn2a66g


edit:
fixed wrong link in GM32_arcade-only binary
User avatar
armorharmer
Posts: 27
Joined: October 13th, 2016, 12:25 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby armorharmer » December 28th, 2016, 9:16 am

Sweet, I used keropi's binaries on my yesterday's bought Dell Optiplex 755, it's working great.
I threw a bunch of CPS1 games, they are same as original PCBs.
I was wondering, do you set a default resolution for all games or you let it change by itself per game (original resolution)? I heard that is bad for arcade monitor to change resolution "on the fly". I am using PVM monitor myself so I don't know if that's case for me, but anyhow I am too lazy to mess around service menu and to set monitor for every different game.
Do you recommend setting default resolution? I am using mostly CPS1/CPS2 and Konami games of that era (Sunset Riders, Violent Storm, etc) so I was wondering what is the best resolution that could be set for all of them together?
User avatar
Shadolf
Posts: 210
Joined: November 6th, 2014, 12:20 pm
Location: South Germany

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby Shadolf » December 28th, 2016, 12:44 pm

Would be also interested about fixed resolution or original resolution set for every game.
I also worry a little about the monitor, as for now I go the original resolution way.
Fixed resolution would be nice, cause every game would be able to use full screen without changing hori/vert settings every time.
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13454
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby cools » December 28th, 2016, 1:12 pm

Changing sync rapidly is the bit that I avoid - 15/24/31k switching kept to a minimum. That and not throwing stuff wildly out of spec of the screen. Those are the only two things I've seen linked to monitor death.

Changing resolution/refresh the way any MAME setup does is fine.
Image
User avatar
armorharmer
Posts: 27
Joined: October 13th, 2016, 12:25 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby armorharmer » December 28th, 2016, 2:26 pm

Thanks, and one more thing...
GroovyMAME should be use with d3d or ddraw option enabled?
Also, should I set frame_delay and what would be the value?
I'm using 32bit Windows XP btw, and an Ati 4350.
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 149
Joined: January 14th, 2016, 6:04 pm
eBay: sainshov
Location: Greece

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby keropi » December 29th, 2016, 3:54 pm

GroovyMAME 0.181 just got released - should be a great release since now more sound MCUs seem to be fully emulated (Toaplan games among them!) :awe:

Here are some executables with MKChamp's suppression patch :

GroovyMAME64 D3D9ex version: http://www.mediafire.com/?q5gtnk1wiiz7ncx
GroovyMAME64 D3D9ex arcade-only version: http://www.mediafire.com/?6ofsxsyx68n022w

GroovyMAME64 version: https://www.mediafire.com/?su6lywrvus80z22
GroovyMAME64 arcade-only version: https://www.mediafire.com/?y7di2i0yqc8qbb9

GroovyMAME32 D3D9ex version: http://www.mediafire.com/?crq4a11aicoxoc9
GroovyMAME32 D3D9ex arcade-only version: http://www.mediafire.com/?h2vh7ylnqfxdxf5

GroovyMAME32 version: http://www.mediafire.com/?rbam2n26p52pci7
GroovyMAME32 arcade-only version: http://www.mediafire.com/?y7di2i0yqc8qbb9



enjoy! 8-)
Last edited by keropi on December 29th, 2016, 6:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
FcoBenitez
Posts: 233
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 3:31 am
Aliases: Kabal2X
PSN: KabalistaUSA
Initials: KBL
Location: Chile

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby FcoBenitez » December 29th, 2016, 5:47 pm

Oh yeah 8-)
I think my english is not most bad ever
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 149
Joined: January 14th, 2016, 6:04 pm
eBay: sainshov
Location: Greece

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby keropi » December 29th, 2016, 6:11 pm

GM64_d3d9ex links were inverted, now fixed! 8-)
User avatar
cools
Armed Police Buttrider
Posts: 13454
Joined: August 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm
eBay: hordarian
Initials: CLS
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby cools » December 31st, 2016, 3:45 pm

armorharmer wrote:Thanks, and one more thing...
GroovyMAME should be use with d3d or ddraw option enabled?
Also, should I set frame_delay and what would be the value?
I'm using 32bit Windows XP btw, and an Ati 4350.


Leave "video" whatever the default is, and frame_delay can be set as "1" as detailed in the opening post.
Image
Dexa
Posts: 126
Joined: March 21st, 2011, 8:45 pm
Location: Germany

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby Dexa » January 3rd, 2017, 5:36 pm

i have crt emu driver 6.5 1.2b and mame 0.161 running.
whats the best way to upgrade? should i install the new crt emu driver and do a fresh installation?
extrude
Posts: 3
Joined: January 3rd, 2017, 8:23 am
Aliases: nesfreak
eBay: fopant
Initials: ANT
Location: Gävle, Sweden
Contact:

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby extrude » January 6th, 2017, 9:48 am

The different versions confuse me, what version should be used for lowest input lag?

What is the difference in the "arcade-only" version?

I'm using the regular 1.80 version without any extra parameters or settings in mame.ini, not sure if i should switch to D3D9ex and enable framedelay 1 and multithreading 1 or lower input lag?

:eh:
User avatar
Shadolf
Posts: 210
Joined: November 6th, 2014, 12:20 pm
Location: South Germany

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby Shadolf » January 6th, 2017, 11:52 am

Can someone please explain what happens to games with other native resolution in case I set MAME to a fixed resolution like 240p?
Is it like the pixels were stretched and the image looks ugly depending on the number of vertical lines from the native resolution or something?
User avatar
FcoBenitez
Posts: 233
Joined: August 18th, 2008, 3:31 am
Aliases: Kabal2X
PSN: KabalistaUSA
Initials: KBL
Location: Chile

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby FcoBenitez » January 11th, 2017, 1:55 pm

Guys, thoughts about HD6450 for a new GroovyMame setup? Been using an old Radeon 9250 on XP so far, and I want to upgrade, this VGA just popped for a nice price online. I assume this VGA can be flashed with Atom-15?
I think my english is not most bad ever
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 149
Joined: January 14th, 2016, 6:04 pm
eBay: sainshov
Location: Greece

Re: GroovyMAME/UME for dummies

Postby keropi » January 11th, 2017, 2:54 pm

Dexa wrote:i have crt emu driver 6.5 1.2b and mame 0.161 running.
whats the best way to upgrade? should i install the new crt emu driver and do a fresh installation?


depending on your hardware you might want to start with a new win7/x64 installation


extrude wrote:The different versions confuse me, what version should be used for lowest input lag?
What is the difference in the "arcade-only" version?
I'm using the regular 1.80 version without any extra parameters or settings in mame.ini, not sure if i should switch to D3D9ex and enable framedelay 1 and multithreading 1 or lower input lag?
:eh:


lowest lag in general is the D3D9ex version , you can read more here: http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/v ... d=986#p986
arcade-only is a build with ONLY mame (that means no MESS so no consoles or home computers)


FcoBenitez wrote:Guys, thoughts about HD6450 for a new GroovyMame setup? Been using an old Radeon 9250 on XP so far, and I want to upgrade, this VGA just popped for a nice price online. I assume this VGA can be flashed with Atom-15?


6450 is fine - check though if crtemudriver 2.0 for 5xxx-6xxx-7xxx exists for winxp

Return to “Emulation Q&A”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users